What is really needed to complement nod32

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tcollogne, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    I had a windows XP sp2 system running nod32 v3, avg anti spyware free and the windows firewall.

    But, yesterday my world of warcraft account got hacked and now I am questioning my setup. Because if that could be hacked, lots of other things are at risk.

    After browsing the forums here, I came up with the following setup for realtime protection :

    nod32
    SuperAntiSpyware pro
    Online armor free.

    What I am especially concerned with are keyloggers, because they seem to cause a lot of the account hacks.

    Will the above setup provide my with enough protection or do you suggest using more/other alternatives.

    BTW, I am using firefox as a web browser.

    Thank in advance for any advice.
     
  2. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    Under normal circumstances this combination would provide more than adequate protection. I am not sure that any of them will give you ironclad assurance that you will be protected against keyloggers.
     
  3. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Online Armor at this point is causing Explorer.exe errors. I use NOD32 3.0 along with Comodo 3.0. I always scan once a week with SuperAntiSpyware and Spybot only on demand. You should contact Blizzard about your account. Your account isn't stored in your pc but in Blizzards site from what I always knew.
     
  4. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    The account problem is being taken care of by blizzard, but I just don't want to ever experience this again.
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Yes, but I don't think your account was hacked through your pc. I think it was hacked on Blizzards end. Do you have a hardware firewall? Modem or router. Remember that a software firewall mainly stops out bounds and a hardware firewall stops in bounds.
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    I beg to differ.
    A software firewall's main job is inbound protection.
    Outbound is an added feature.
     
  7. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutely correct.

    Try the free version of WinPatrol for added keylogger detection:

    http://www.winpatrol.com/
     
  8. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I just visited the winpatrol site. I have a question about this. Can this be used as a replacement for SAS, or is it an addition.

    I also read here on the forums that a lot of people use the free version of these tools, so that doesn't offer any realtime protection.

    Is realtime protection not really necessary?

    Dieselman, I am behind a router with build-in firewall.
     
  9. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    I'm guessing Matousec has brought you to believe this. :doubt:
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Not a replacement as WinPatrol is not a scanner but a system monitor.
    It is a nice addition.
     
  11. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I noticed that online armor paid has a feature to prevent keylogger. Does comodo also offer this?
     
  12. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
  13. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Ok. I will go for nod32 + superantispyware pro + comodo combination and see how that works out.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  14. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    You dont need SAS in real time. Free edition used on demand is ok.
     
  15. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    True, but having it realtime wouldn't hurt either.:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.