What is really needed to complement nod32

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tcollogne, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    I had a windows XP sp2 system running nod32 v3, avg anti spyware free and the windows firewall.

    But, yesterday my world of warcraft account got hacked and now I am questioning my setup. Because if that could be hacked, lots of other things are at risk.

    After browsing the forums here, I came up with the following setup for realtime protection :

    nod32
    SuperAntiSpyware pro
    Online armor free.

    What I am especially concerned with are keyloggers, because they seem to cause a lot of the account hacks.

    Will the above setup provide my with enough protection or do you suggest using more/other alternatives.

    BTW, I am using firefox as a web browser.

    Thank in advance for any advice.
     
  2. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    485
    Under normal circumstances this combination would provide more than adequate protection. I am not sure that any of them will give you ironclad assurance that you will be protected against keyloggers.
     
  3. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Online Armor at this point is causing Explorer.exe errors. I use NOD32 3.0 along with Comodo 3.0. I always scan once a week with SuperAntiSpyware and Spybot only on demand. You should contact Blizzard about your account. Your account isn't stored in your pc but in Blizzards site from what I always knew.
     
  4. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    The account problem is being taken care of by blizzard, but I just don't want to ever experience this again.
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Yes, but I don't think your account was hacked through your pc. I think it was hacked on Blizzards end. Do you have a hardware firewall? Modem or router. Remember that a software firewall mainly stops out bounds and a hardware firewall stops in bounds.
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,506
    I beg to differ.
    A software firewall's main job is inbound protection.
    Outbound is an added feature.
     
  7. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutely correct.

    Try the free version of WinPatrol for added keylogger detection:

    http://www.winpatrol.com/
     
  8. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I just visited the winpatrol site. I have a question about this. Can this be used as a replacement for SAS, or is it an addition.

    I also read here on the forums that a lot of people use the free version of these tools, so that doesn't offer any realtime protection.

    Is realtime protection not really necessary?

    Dieselman, I am behind a router with build-in firewall.
     
  9. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    I'm guessing Matousec has brought you to believe this. :doubt:
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,506
    Not a replacement as WinPatrol is not a scanner but a system monitor.
    It is a nice addition.
     
  11. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I noticed that online armor paid has a feature to prevent keylogger. Does comodo also offer this?
     
  12. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
  13. tcollogne

    tcollogne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Ok. I will go for nod32 + superantispyware pro + comodo combination and see how that works out.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  14. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    You dont need SAS in real time. Free edition used on demand is ok.
     
  15. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    True, but having it realtime wouldn't hurt either.:D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. laruru
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,088
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.