What is ddcvt.exe?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by abanerji, Nov 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    My System details are Compaq Presario P4, 256 MB RAM, XP-SP2 (patched uptodate), ZoneAlarm Free 6.5, AVG Free 7, Ewido Anti-spyware 4.0, DiamondCS ProcessGuard Free 3.405. I have just observed the presence of "C:\Windows\System32\ddcvt.exe" both in ZA's Program Control and ProcessGuard's Security tab. A google search provides no information.

    What is this ddcvt.exe please?
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Doing a Google for that exact spelling, "ddcvt.exe", it comes up with 3 links. None are in english though. All I can understand is a reference to P2P. Are you running any kind of P2P programs? May be a place to start.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,898
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  4. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Thanks for your replies. No, I don't run any p2p (and I am the only user).

    Assuming that somehow I have been gifted with a rootkit, what should be done now please?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,898
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You car run some of the rootkit detecters available. a search here at wilders (rootkits) should bring up some results. even if you do not have a rootkit at least you will feel a little relief after running a couple of scans. you might try here first http://www.gmer.net/
     
  6. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Thank you for the link, will try.
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Submit to VirusTotal , please
    www.virustotal.com
     
  8. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Just did an online scan at VirusTotal ... "no virus found" by any engine. Wondering, if rootkit, would AV catch?

    Attaching screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Try checking the file's properties. Go to its location and right-click on it then click Properties.
     
  10. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,728
    Location:
    UK
    Glad it's okay for you abanerji, on less thing for you to worry about :)

    Before I knew it was okay for you thought I'd google a bit. Put in *cvt.exe. After a page or two decided to look at a likely one and ended up clicking on the link and having Avast jump in and tell me there was a trojan at that place!

    Have just cleaned out my temp files and done a scan. You didn't have one, but you nearly gave me one !!! (Not intentionally of course)
     
  12. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Happy that your system is safe :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.