What is ddcvt.exe?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by abanerji, Nov 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    My System details are Compaq Presario P4, 256 MB RAM, XP-SP2 (patched uptodate), ZoneAlarm Free 6.5, AVG Free 7, Ewido Anti-spyware 4.0, DiamondCS ProcessGuard Free 3.405. I have just observed the presence of "C:\Windows\System32\ddcvt.exe" both in ZA's Program Control and ProcessGuard's Security tab. A google search provides no information.

    What is this ddcvt.exe please?
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Doing a Google for that exact spelling, "ddcvt.exe", it comes up with 3 links. None are in english though. All I can understand is a reference to P2P. Are you running any kind of P2P programs? May be a place to start.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  4. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Thanks for your replies. No, I don't run any p2p (and I am the only user).

    Assuming that somehow I have been gifted with a rootkit, what should be done now please?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You car run some of the rootkit detecters available. a search here at wilders (rootkits) should bring up some results. even if you do not have a rootkit at least you will feel a little relief after running a couple of scans. you might try here first http://www.gmer.net/
     
  6. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Thank you for the link, will try.
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Submit to VirusTotal , please
    www.virustotal.com
     
  8. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Just did an online scan at VirusTotal ... "no virus found" by any engine. Wondering, if rootkit, would AV catch?

    Attaching screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Try checking the file's properties. Go to its location and right-click on it then click Properties.
     
  10. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Glad it's okay for you abanerji, on less thing for you to worry about :)

    Before I knew it was okay for you thought I'd google a bit. Put in *cvt.exe. After a page or two decided to look at a likely one and ended up clicking on the link and having Avast jump in and tell me there was a trojan at that place!

    Have just cleaned out my temp files and done a scan. You didn't have one, but you nearly gave me one !!! (Not intentionally of course)
     
  12. abanerji

    abanerji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Happy that your system is safe :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.