What is a host file?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by New Raider, Dec 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. New Raider

New Raider Registered Member

Pardon my stupidity, but what's a host file, and is it good to have one?

I am a total newbee at security and computers in general.

As far as I know, a host file was generated by my ISP when I signed up.
    Can I really get another without harming that one, and why do I need it? o_O

2. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Re:HOST file returns!

Hi New Raider,
    Whenever you type in an address or click a link, your host's file is consulted first for the IP address. People, including myself, use it to block ads and certain bad sites.
    What happens is that if the bad site is on the hosts file listed as 127.0.0.1, which is the address of your own computer, the site or ad cannot be reached.
    Here is a good link that explains alot:
    http://accs-net.com/hosts/what_is_hosts.html

I can't answer your ISP question, however. I'm sorry. I'm sure someone will come along who can.

Regards,
    Douglas

3. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Can anyone explain to me why an ISP would generate a hosts file?
    Quicker DNS resolving?

Thanks,
    Douglas

4. Acadia

Acadia Registered Member

The host file is natural to every Windows operating system, it was put there by Microsoft. If you use Windows, you have at least one host file, and possibly several; it was there when you bought your computer (unless your hard drive was completely empty and you hadn't loaded Windows yet).

Acadia

5. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Re:HOST file returns!

It was pointed out to me that this could be minsconstrued by people who are new to computers.
    127.0.0.1 is the IP number of all computers, not just a particular person's .
    Sorry for the lack of clarity.
    Regards,
    Douglas

6. MakoFusion

MakoFusion Registered Member

127.0.0.1 also called "localhost"