what happened to pg database??

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by deckie49, Dec 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deckie49

    deckie49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    according to pg's help file, if i click the "question mark" in the "protection" area', i will be taken to the "pg database" for more information on the highlighted process.
    i did that- ended up at the main page of the website. on the left side of the website is another link to the pg database. i clicked that - nothing!
    is the database just down temporarily, or non-existant?? as a noobie to pg, i sure could use it's advice to help me configure all these processes.
     
  2. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    just go ahead and google any .exe you care to name youll find the info in several databases

    svchost & rundll32 however can mask a great number of things

    the default processes for W2K\XP are

    Explorer.exe
    Internat.exe
    Lsass.exe
    Mstask.exe
    Smss.exe
    Spoolsv.exe
    Svchost.exe
    Services.exe
    System
    System Idle Process
    Taskmgr.exe
    Winlogon.exe
    Winmgmt.exe


    you can always clear it down to the default processes then start to write rules as you start (or reboot) programs
    checking as you go in google
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2006
  3. deckie49

    deckie49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    thanks for the link.
    very good info.
    so, these core processes- should they all have the default pg settings?
     
  4. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    well if you select the protection tab and hit the reset to defualt button most of those would be the ones listed.

    follow the link to see the ones absolutely required to run windows.


    You can for instance shutdown explorer.exe, but youd better have a command prompt or task manager open to restart it before you do :p
    (that makes for a rather sparse desktop)
    Some have to be running always others are optional. Generally you'd protect them all.

    heres a thread on svchost
     
  5. deckie49

    deckie49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    thanks again, ice czar. all the info you have provided pretty well takes care of my question.i hope you (and all other forum members) have a very merry christmas!
     
  6. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    and a happy birthday :p
    (sux to be born on Christmas :blink: all the bars are closed)

    Thank You and may all your Holidays be bright ;) (also to the forums at large)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.