What free AV plays well with Prevx 3.?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by joutlan, May 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    I've got Prevx 3 with safeonline installed, and besides that I use Windows Firewall and run MalwareBytes/ASCPro once in a while.

    What is a decent AV, say Avast Free, that will run alongside Prevx without problems?

    Why? Just another layer for offline, but don't think I "really" need it....I have a lot of computer resources, so not concerned about slow down, etc.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    you answered your question, Avast Free.;)
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Agreed if you feel it's necessary!

    TH
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Are you saying you can feel safe on a machine with just running Prevx?
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I do! And also I use common sense as not to be a happy clicker on the net as no AV or AM detects 100%! ;) And if malware gets pass Prevx and can't clean it a Prevx Malware Engineer will connect remotely and disinfect see here: Guarantee http://www.prevx.com/freescan.asp#guaranteed and no other AV company does that! That I know of?

    TH
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Prevx is all I use now, also. Once in a while I run a scan with Superantispyware.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And all SAS finds is yummy Cookies! ;) But it is always good to have On-Demand scanners to check if need be like SAS & MBAM!

    TH
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I do actually consider to use Prevx 4 alone once it's released of course, if the URL blocking feature turns out to be great. Because that may be the only thing about the current version that I think need improvements. In my opinion that is. :)
    Since the URL blocking feature/Web-scanner (or whatever you wanna call it) is a very important layer to me in a security product.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yummy Cookies! and dont forget the Coffee;)
     
  10. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
  11. NiteSurfer

    NiteSurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    I also use Avast Free with Prevx w/SOL with no conflicts (see Signature).
     
  12. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I wonder what kind of magic Prevx Malware Engineer has to perform if malware formatted hard drive ?
    Maybe that's why no other AV company offer guarantee.
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's a money back guarantee, not a guarantee that we'll be able to fix every case ;)
     
  14. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I see :thumb:

    I misunderstood that part, thanks for clarifying it, it makes sense now :)
     
  15. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Any AV that supports process exclusion is a good idea to avoid double scanning by the AV when Prevx is scanning: MSE and AntiVir for example; don't know about the others.
     
  16. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    Thanks guys for the replies. I feel safe with just Prevx, as it's pretty awesome really :) I'll try MSE or Avast and see. Just to layer it so my brain can wander like it usually does....:argh:
     
  17. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I tried Nod and Avira free. Both worked fine but I decided to uninstall them, because Prevx starts a vicious circle. You get used to have an AV that is really light, so whenever you install those light AV's like Avira and etc, you realize they aint that light :D
     
  18. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    I ended up adding MSE....and process excluded each on the other, i.e. Prevx and MSE....also with MBAM. Seems to be working fine...I can't notice any slowdown....oh, I turned off behavior scanning in MSE since it's turned on in Prevx....does this make sense?
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You should be quite fine with the 3 since there playing nice with each other as is! ;)

    TH
     
  20. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    They're playing real nice...love the processes exclusions for them all...MBAM is realtime on a trial, but I'll let that revert to FREE for manual scans. I also use ASC Pro though, and love that one to keep the system/registry clean. I've never had a problem with it, ever.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i have nod antivirus with prevx and no problems:thumb:
     
  22. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    NOD would be my second choice...that's a strong combo you have there! :D
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks:)
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use Prevx with VIPRE AV in my VM's without issues! But again NOD32 & VIPRE are not Free!

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.