What free AV plays well with Prevx 3.?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by joutlan, May 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    I've got Prevx 3 with safeonline installed, and besides that I use Windows Firewall and run MalwareBytes/ASCPro once in a while.

    What is a decent AV, say Avast Free, that will run alongside Prevx without problems?

    Why? Just another layer for offline, but don't think I "really" need it....I have a lot of computer resources, so not concerned about slow down, etc.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,101
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    you answered your question, Avast Free.;)
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,647
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Agreed if you feel it's necessary!

    TH
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,039
    Are you saying you can feel safe on a machine with just running Prevx?
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,647
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I do! And also I use common sense as not to be a happy clicker on the net as no AV or AM detects 100%! ;) And if malware gets pass Prevx and can't clean it a Prevx Malware Engineer will connect remotely and disinfect see here: Guarantee http://www.prevx.com/freescan.asp#guaranteed and no other AV company does that! That I know of?

    TH
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Prevx is all I use now, also. Once in a while I run a scan with Superantispyware.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,647
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And all SAS finds is yummy Cookies! ;) But it is always good to have On-Demand scanners to check if need be like SAS & MBAM!

    TH
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I do actually consider to use Prevx 4 alone once it's released of course, if the URL blocking feature turns out to be great. Because that may be the only thing about the current version that I think need improvements. In my opinion that is. :)
    Since the URL blocking feature/Web-scanner (or whatever you wanna call it) is a very important layer to me in a security product.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    yummy Cookies! and dont forget the Coffee;)
     
  10. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    In His Service
  11. NiteSurfer

    NiteSurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    I also use Avast Free with Prevx w/SOL with no conflicts (see Signature).
     
  12. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I wonder what kind of magic Prevx Malware Engineer has to perform if malware formatted hard drive ?
    Maybe that's why no other AV company offer guarantee.
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's a money back guarantee, not a guarantee that we'll be able to fix every case ;)
     
  14. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I see :thumb:

    I misunderstood that part, thanks for clarifying it, it makes sense now :)
     
  15. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Any AV that supports process exclusion is a good idea to avoid double scanning by the AV when Prevx is scanning: MSE and AntiVir for example; don't know about the others.
     
  16. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    Thanks guys for the replies. I feel safe with just Prevx, as it's pretty awesome really :) I'll try MSE or Avast and see. Just to layer it so my brain can wander like it usually does....:argh:
     
  17. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I tried Nod and Avira free. Both worked fine but I decided to uninstall them, because Prevx starts a vicious circle. You get used to have an AV that is really light, so whenever you install those light AV's like Avira and etc, you realize they aint that light :D
     
  18. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    I ended up adding MSE....and process excluded each on the other, i.e. Prevx and MSE....also with MBAM. Seems to be working fine...I can't notice any slowdown....oh, I turned off behavior scanning in MSE since it's turned on in Prevx....does this make sense?
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,647
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You should be quite fine with the 3 since there playing nice with each other as is! ;)

    TH
     
  20. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    They're playing real nice...love the processes exclusions for them all...MBAM is realtime on a trial, but I'll let that revert to FREE for manual scans. I also use ASC Pro though, and love that one to keep the system/registry clean. I've never had a problem with it, ever.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    i have nod antivirus with prevx and no problems:thumb:
     
  22. joutlan

    joutlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    NOD would be my second choice...that's a strong combo you have there! :D
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks:)
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,647
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use Prevx with VIPRE AV in my VM's without issues! But again NOD32 & VIPRE are not Free!

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.