What firewall does the feds use?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by php111, Oct 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Before we begin with my question or questions. No, I do not work for the Federal Government. I am just curious so I am expecting to get honest answers.

    1.) Does the feds use software or hardware firewalls?

    2.) If above is software, what software firewall do they use?

    Once again, I am only curious.
     
  2. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    "Feds" use several thousand $ worth Cisco routers. Nothing we use here can be compared to this, not even remotely.

    This is only a guess though...
     
  3. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    And of course what's really scary is that they still get hacked.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Then the hackers gets arrested and offered a job to keep other hackers out.:D
     
  5. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hi.

    Your both comments show once again (well, to me at least) that security is not just an appliance or a software installed, however perfect and expensive it may be. The most important part is the humans who handle them. A free software firewall can be a powerful weapon in the hands of an expert, just as a Cisco appliance can be totally useless in the hands of an unqualified person.

    So it really isn't important what tools "Feds" use, but how they use them.

    Cheers,
     
  6. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Having a Cisco firewall is a small part in corporate security.
     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    It's a silly question. Did you mean what firewall uses some secretary, what is the perimeter defense of the FBI site server, their databases, the lan etc? Which one?
    Mrk
     
  8. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124

    Hi,

    I really meant, what firewall does the feds use? I believe that they use Cisco.
     
  9. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Mrk:

    Although I have a view in general that there are no bad questions only bad answers, in this case I agree with you (again?). This is a question without any content. Why is it raised? Curiosity? Well as a person who takes security seriously that is an insufficient reason to ask.

    If I knew I wouldn't answer. If I could guess (and I could) I wouldn't answer either.

    If the OP wants help for themselves on FW's and security let them ask those questions and I would be glad to assist. But to ask about the methods used by a third party? .... hmmmmm?
     
  10. Happy-Dude

    Happy-Dude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    United States of America
    What I think?

    Feds use their own operating system (maybe *nix based). They build their own security OR have a contract with the major hanchos (CISCO).

    Otherwise, for the people down their needing to use the top 3 OS varients, they are perhaps secured by the same hardware, but also with corporate grade security software.
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If we tell you we'll have to kill you.:ninja:
     
  12. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    The feds use vista 64 with aero enabled offcource :rolleyes:
     
  13. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    If I have to guess, I say that they use something as a modified OpenBSD OS
     
  14. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    OS,..Mac and Windows, Mac because of obvious reasons, Windows to save money. A much more interesting subject is the fbi's CIPAV/monitoring malware and how they use vulnerabilities and other means to get their spyware on your computer.
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    maybe you can contact them here www.fbi.gov and ask the happy laddy at her desktop hey what firewall do you use.:D
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thats only because of the fact it is the FBI plus all software has vunrabilitys. where its a weak password,exploit etc etc. if someone has enough time they can hack any OS.
    btw the national security agency apparently use SElinux as part of there security
    link
    i dont know if its true or not. anyone can make a website with whatever content they want.
     
  17. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    Their choice is Alcatel-Lucent VPN Firewall Brick.
     
  18. Brother Esau

    Brother Esau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    37
    The Government Uses UNIX and Hardware Firewalls
     
  19. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Hello all,

    The good news: I have done computer security consulting for "the Feds" for several years.

    The bad news: I won't tell you what security system(s) they use; not because I can't, but because of National Security concerns. :shifty:
    Suffice it to say that the government uses a lot of high-end security systems....
     
  20. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hi.

    I fail to see how exactly is this "good news".

    So why a post then?

    Cheers,
     
  21. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Seer,

    The reason for my post was to tell you (and the other Wilders members) that those of us that KNOW what security systems the "Feds" use CAN'T tell you.

    The Department of Homeland Defense guidelines forbid me to discuss security issues with anyone without the proper clearance level(s). It's a simple as that.
     
  22. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    I think that the most security is don't say nothing, don't appear, and not to tell: " I know, but I can't say ". :D :D
     
  23. yankinNcrankin

    yankinNcrankin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    406
    Some of their stuff is developed and created by their own, hence the name is whatever the programmer wants it to be.............:cool:
     
  24. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    This guy used to come here, his user name was "Groom Lake". Groom lake as in Area 51 ..UFO..ROSWELL, he would answer simple questions..just not getting too specific.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
  25. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Some other things to keep in mind. I have read some of the old DOD documents on recommendations for MS OS settings. They would render the PC all but useless for the average user. I also seriously doubt that anything they use is available to the general public, be it hardware or software.

    Keep in mind that the major installations (for lack of a better term) are in electromagnetically shielded rooms. Have heard even the monitors are shielded to prevent color\heat radiants(?) from being able to be read. There is a thread somewhere on the forum that talks about keyboards giving off signals that can be picked up and interpreted into keystrokes. You can bet they are shielded as well.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.