What does "snapshot" do to disk where snapshot backups are stored?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by bg56, Dec 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bg56

    bg56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Apologies if this is covered in the guide or in the forum... read for a couple of hours last night and just couldn't come to a conclusion. Have just installed B&R 10 Pro it's prompting me for a snapshot location. It looks like B&R10 does something to "prep" the snapshot target location. Since I'm using a second hard drive that I use to store data, I want to understand exactly what B&R will do in this prep and how destructive it is. I'm assuming it is somehow making the snapshot space I indicate as usuable only to B&R - any input on what B&R does to the snapshot destination storage is appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    There are two ways of doing it.

    You can either save the snapshot (paragon image file ) to a drive , just like saving any file - it has no effect on the drive itself.

    Or, you can create a special backup capsule - which creates a special separate partition to store images on . That is only accessible by Paragon.

    Hope it helps.
     
  3. bg56

    bg56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks - I'm assuming the "snapshot" reminder I keep seeing pop up is to create a capsule which means the drive will be repartitioned. I also assume it's "non destructive" in that any information already on the drive being partitioned is not affected - correct?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.