What do you use for beta testing software?

Discussion in 'polls' started by mrhero, Jul 23, 2006.

?

What do you use for beta testing software?

  1. Virtual Machine - Vmware,Virtual PC, etc.

    33 vote(s)
    21.6%
  2. Sandbox/Snapshot Software - Firstdefence ISR, Shadowuser, etc.

    35 vote(s)
    22.9%
  3. Imaging Software - Acronis TI, Norton Ghost, etc.

    33 vote(s)
    21.6%
  4. Another PC dedicated to beta tests

    12 vote(s)
    7.8%
  5. My primary PC with no protection (I haven't got anything to loose :))

    28 vote(s)
    18.3%
  6. Other (Give more details please?)

    12 vote(s)
    7.8%
  1. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    A lot of people at wilders doing beta tests, I want to learn what are you using for that pupose?
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    although i do have true image, i dont necessarily use it for beta testing.

    i only have one computer with each of my parents, so if theres a beta i want to try i will install it.

    if i dont like it, i will simply uninstall it. if it does break windows and i cant uninstall it, then and only then will i resort to using true image.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2006
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    I rely on First Defense-ISR. So far it has reliably bailed me out of trashed system. As a fall back I rely on IFD/IFW

    Pete
     
  4. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    First Defense
     
  5. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    FDISR here too.
     
  6. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    FD-ISR here too.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm not really a beta-tester, but my assumption is that any new software can break my system and it happened in the past.
    So I always have an image backup file ready when I start playing with new softwares.
    Like Peter, I use FirstDefense-ISR for immediate system recovery and when that doesn't help, I use Acronis True Image like pvsurfer to recover my complete system. In most cases a simple reboot is enough to save my system.

    It makes you feel invincible, but that is just a psychological problem, one of the side-effects of using FDISR & ATI together. ;)
     
  8. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    The idea behind using something like FD-ISR to test beta software is that one snapshot can be set up purely for that purpose. I have one such snapshot for testing various builds of KIS. This isn't just for recovery purposes.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    Also quite true, but the disaster recovery seems to get your attention more.
     
  10. furballi

    furballi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Posts:
    263
    My OS primary active C partition is only 900MB. All other programs/data/personal folders and pagefile reside in another extended logical partition. I image the active C partition PRIOR to loading the BETA application. When done with the evaluation, I simply restore the image file of the active C partition.

    It takes about 40 seconds to image or restore this C partition using Bootit NG. With this setup, I can test the compatibility of the BETA application with all other proggies on my PC.
     
  11. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    For me, the correct answer to the poll question would be a combination of several of the choices, so I chose other. I only have one PC, but I have several hard drives with operating systems and varying amounts of software on them. By switching to different primary master drives, my single PC is both my primary unit and test rig. I also use Acronis to copy the different setups onto the drives as I need them. These are stored on either my external hard drive or on CDRWs, depending on what I'm doing. When I'm testing security apps/configurations, the external drive is disconnected from the PC. It's not the arrangement I'd like to use but it's the best I can do with the hardware I have. A bit inconvenient, but it gets the job done.
    Rick
     
  12. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I use our primary computer with DriveImageXML,although I haven't tried a restore yet.
    I'm fairly selective in beta programs that I test.I seldom take a really new beta.I wait until reviews or feedback are available,unless it's a developer that I trust from previous experience.

    I may be using my wife's old computer for beta testing in the future.Just have to pick it up.;)
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    Hello,
    Well I use more than a single option:
    VMware and dedicated beta machine, primarily.
    ShadowSurfer, sometimes.
    Mrk
     
  14. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    More than one.

    At home : VMWorkstation, a test machine, Firstdefence ISR, Imaging.

    Working : VM Subscription, a test machine, Imaging.
     
  15. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    FD-ISR here :D
    Argh clicked the wrong voting button.. So scratch one from 'other' and put it up in FD-ISR ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2006
  16. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Depends on what I'm testing.
    If I'm testing an antivirus, firewall or any other security app, I would use FD-ISR. :cool:

    If I'm installing a new alpha/beta app (other then those mentioned above), I just install it on my drive. :)
    Of course always having an image ready, just in case.

    Do have to reinstall Windows anyway soon during my vacation. :D
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    FirstDefense-ISR! :cool:

    Acadia
     
  18. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I use a separate machine with drive imaging software. For more finished software (that I'm confident is relatively stable) I will install it on my everyday machine, which still has disk image and standard data backups.
     
  19. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Acronis True Image... I have incremental backups which are done at shutdown and stored on a dedicated ASZ drive. I also have external images as a Plan B :)

    Fairy
     
  20. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    I'm very satisfied with Rollback Rx Pro, which is MISSING in this poll ! :eek: and has never let me down so far. Solid as rock for me :D .

    nicM
     
  21. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    You can select "Sandbox/Snapshot Software" .
     
  22. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    I use vmware for testing purposes, not only for beta softwares, but all softwares new to me..
     
  23. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    FirstDefense-ISR, FirstDefense-ISR, FirstDefense-ISR, FirstDefense-ISR, FirstDefense-ISR...
     
  24. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    RestoreIT, RestoreIT, RestoreIT, RestoreIT, RestoreIT, RestoreIT... LOL
    Cheers,
    Hervé
     
  25. HJam72

    HJam72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Kerrville, TX
    The only thing beta on my PC is Windows XP and everytime I uninstall it my freaking computer stops running! :mad:
     
Loading...