What do you think?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by CheapSkate, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CheapSkate

CheapSkate Guest

Do I need an antivirus?

Here's my setup:

Windows XP Pro

No ISP/POP3 email or news accounts and no addressbook

Webmail with host antivirus (Yahoo with Norton)

Opera with no Java (no ActiveX, of course)

No file downloads only

Windows XP firewall and DSL gateway hardware firewall

Weekly online virus scan with TrendMicro Housecall

Weekly online trojan scan with Asquared

Weekly spyware scan with Spy Audit

I've been running this way for 6 months without any security incident. I am beginning to believe I really don't need an antivirus. What do you think?

2. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Hey CheapSkate

Getting an AV is a personal preference. If you feel you are completely safe and you have had a good track record, then keep doing what you've been doing. :D

I personally recommend having at least 1 real-time monitor to protect your system because, even though you don't download anything or use POP3 email, it is still possible to get a "Drive-by" infection, meaning you had some site that was bad throw something on your computer when it loaded. This is just my opinion.

Do whatever helps you sleep at night :)

3. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

I think you have a false sense of security, impending doom heading you way, just a matter of time... ;) :D

Cheers :D

4. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member

I would say it depends on what you have on your computer, and what you do on your computer.

For example :

1. If you never surf to dubious sites...well, i've known people to go for years without getting infected and without any protection (except firewall), but they only visited a very select few sites (I'm sure there's some 'luck' in this, but no idea what the percentage is)