What do you guys think about my security setups?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by rOadToIS, Dec 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    Desktop - ZoneAlarm Antivirus with firewall
    DriveSentry
    Spyware Terminator (real time shield and scanning)
    Malwarebytes' Antimalware free edition
    Firefox with McAfee Site Advisor, WOT, and flashblock
    Sandboxie
    CCleaner

    Laptop - Comodo Firewall with Defense+
    Avira Antivir free
    Spyware Terminator (real time shield and scanning)
    SuperAntispyware free
    Firefox with McAfee Site Advisor, WOT, and flashblock
    Sandboxie
    CCleaner
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    if you want my advise and what i think i will say that with ZoneAlarm Antivirus with firewall and sandboxie you should be fine and secure for destop:thumb: and for the laptop comodo with D+ and sandboxie is very good combo:thumb:
     
  3. Frog01

    Frog01 Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C Canada
    Sorry man but your set-up is too big!:D Thats my opinion! I like my computer to go fast!
     
  4. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    He has one active of each AV/ASW/FW/hips or BB for each system. That sounds good to me. You probably don't need all the FF add ons but that's up to you.
     
  5. Frog01

    Frog01 Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C Canada
    Well I think that if you have more than 4 programs thats too much!:D
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    more than 2 is way to much:D and i have 3
     
  7. Frog01

    Frog01 Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C Canada
    Well maybe!:cautious: o_O
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    well i say it cause i know that a sandbox type security,policy base sandbox or a well configure Hips program will take care of dumping the garbage out plus add a what ever back up security for extra comfort:thumb:
     
  9. Frog01

    Frog01 Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C Canada
    True very true but like I always say I dont feel safe with just 1 program!:rolleyes:
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    But you feel safe with one insurance provider?;)
     
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,212
    I have taken out what I think is in excess (IMO of course). If you use Sandboxie properly you will never get any spyware in your system. I would also recommend an imaging program, in case of HD failure or extreme disaster.
     
  12. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Its more than enough :isay: feel safe:ninja: :ninja:
     
  13. DarkButterfly

    DarkButterfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    I would just change Site Advisor with LinkScanner or Finjan Secure Browsing. Why? Site Advisor and WOT, both base their ratings on a database, while both LinkScanner and Finjan provide real time scanning.

    Maybe you could also use SpywareBlaster and Spybot Search & Destroy preventive measures. No Teatimer (Spybot), though.


    Same deal here.

    Just my opinion.

    Best regards
     
  14. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    Thanks for all the replies!:D
     
  15. Looks tight as a drum, to me your defense is darn good.:thumb:
     
  16. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    Thanks!:cool:
     
  17. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It seem to me ilke you are making way too much work for yourself. Ditch the scanners. Virtualization is the key. Best of all no continuous user interaction is required.
     
  18. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I like my setups right now. Actually, I believe having several backup scanners is good as long as it doesn't use a lot of system resources.:D
    By the way, configuring scanners is kind of fun to me.

    Thanks for the reply!
     
  19. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    Backup scanners aren't an issue. You don't have any conflicting realtime so I wouldn't worry.
     
  20. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    is the laptop partitioned? how big is the laptop's hard disk?
     
  21. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    It's not partitioned, and it has small hard disc size: 50GB :)
     
  22. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    i see - we need to work with this then :D
     
  23. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    Work with whato_O?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.