What changed my email port settings?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Howard Kaikow, May 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Earlier this year, some update, I know not which, to Kaspersky AV 7.0.1.325 caused a problem opening the Thunderbird mail program.

    Since then, I'd say that about 99% of the time I have to pause KAV to allow Thunderbird to open.
    Tho annoying, this did not become a problem until 11 May 2009, at which time I stopped using dial-up and started using a cable modem to connect to the internet.

    Needless to say, I was very uncomfortable pausing KAV as I was now continuously connected to the internet.

    However, a few days ago, I found that the port numbers in at least Outlook Express and Outlook 2003 had been changed back to the default 25. I forget whether Thinderbird was affected.

    This happened only on my Win 2000 system which is hardwired to the router.
    Vista system, wireless connection to router, was not affected.

    I am in the process of doing a full KAV scan of the Windows 2000 system.
    No issues were reported on the OS drive.
    And I do not see any issues with the Run and RunOnce keys in the registry.

    I know now that I needed to disconnect the cable modem briefly while KAV is paused.

    What are the possibilities?

    1. A virus that snuck in while KAV was paused, did its damage, then destryoyed all evidence of itself?
    2. An abberation caused by IE 6 or Windows, or the mail programs themselves, changing the port number?
    3. Is this the type of problem that should have been caught by the router's firewall? I guess that I need to ask D-Link if I have the right settings for the router and firewall.
    My incoming and outgoing mail servers are at different ISPs.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Howard Kaikow, if your switch from Dial-up to Broadband required the use of a setup CD for that modem and/or service, perhaps the OE, Outlook and Thunderbird port settings were reset to defaults during such installation. It happened to me, a few years back, when I went to Broadband.

    A good indication of an email client's setting overwrite will be the Throbber suddenly changing to your cable provider's image after installation.
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The move from dial-up to btoadband was on 11 May, but the problem did not occur until 22-23 May.

    However, there used to be a Comcast DEsktop Doctor icon, and it seems to be gone now.

    Also, the Comcast Toolbar and Comcast High-Speed Internet Wizard are listed in Add/REmove programs.

    I should likely get rid of all the Comcast stuff.
    I'll give Comcast a call.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.