What can you say on this connections?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sweater, Nov 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I am just wondering what it meant by this, I've already blocked this cli.exe application but still this is what it shows. :oops:

    Filseclab Firewall monitor:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    And also here is what it shows in Curr Ports monitor: :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hi,
    First, including headers in the report could be nice.
    Second, notice that the addresses are your local address.
    This is something communicating internally... maybe your graphic driver?
    Mrk
     
  4. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Or the ATI Catalyst Control Center...

    Blue
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Some programs use TCP/IP instead of DCOM to communicate with local programe components. ATI Control Center is one of them, AntiVir antivirus does the same.
    This traffic is only local and doesn't actually go out from your PC.
     
  6. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    It is related to the ATI Control Center. Googleing on it will provide a wealth of informational sites that explain what it is............

    Just one example........

    per Uniblue:

    Description:
    cli.exe is installed alongside ATI's range of graphics cards with the Catalyst hardware driver range. Installs a easy-to-access taskbar icon for access to diagnostics features. This is a non-essential process. Disabling or enabling this is down to user preference
     
  7. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    So, there's nothing to worry about it... coz it is just safe as it is and not communicating out? :(
     
  8. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    You just won't be able to open the Catalyst Control Centre if you block the connection. To make any future confiurations, you will need to allow it it to commnicate through the Loopback Adapter.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.