What AV doesn't stay resident?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by truthseeker, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Hello everyone :D

    I am wanting to install a good and reliable AV that has the option of not being memory resident and doesn't take up resources permantly by sitting active in RAM.

    I only want to use it once per week to scan my RAM and internal and external HDD for virus etc.

    What FREE AV offers that function?

    Or do all AV's force you to be running in real-time and run in memory?
     
  2. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    clamwin and clamwin portable
     
  3. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Dr. Web CureIT
     
  4. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Do clamwin and Dr Web have that same virus signature database that the other leading av's do? eg. avast. avg, avitar etc?
     
  5. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Kaspersky AVP Tool

    No, all the vendors have different signatures. If you look at tests, ClamAV usually detects around 80% of viruses/malware and Dr Web (last time I saw) usually gets around 90%. AntiVir, Avast and AVG all get over 90%.
     
  7. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Is there a way to install AntiVir, Avast or AVG, but not have it run in memory? And only load it when I want to scan a file or HDD? And when I close it, it 100% releases itself from RAM.
     
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Well you could install AntiVir without the Guard, disable the startup entry for the tray icon and delete the Scheduled Tasks. I think this will make it a fully on-demand scanner.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I think you'd probably almost be better off just using one of the reputable online scanners. Last I heard, when you tried to make Avira on-demand only, there were issues. I think it needs processes running to update itself. But the online scanners will do what you need, and there are quite a few to choose from. I used to use the BitDefender online scanner with good results.
     
  10. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Try BitDefender Free Edition, it only has on-demand scanning. But has v10 engine , quarantine,auto-update and threat removal same as full version.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2008
  11. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Yes, it seems that is the only way.
     
  12. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Is Bitdefender as reliable as AVG, Avast or Antivir?

    But it says, Operating platform: Windows 98/NT-SP6/Me/2000/XP IE 4.0(+). But I use Vista.
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    BD is quite good generally, but the older free version may not support Vista.
     
  14. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    It works on Vista (32-bit). I am using it now, no issues.


    BD is quite good AV scanner, it has one of the best detection capabilities. See latest AV-Comparative or AV-Test for better idea.
     
  15. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Another scanner is AcraBit MicroScan . AcraBit is part of VirusScan (at) Jotti.org, I don't know how good this AV actually is.
     
  16. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Does it allow you to install it without any drivers or any part running permanently in RAM?
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    There is no realtime element here. Only part of the program that is active in RAM is the auto-update module.
    You can disable that post installation.
     
  18. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    does it cover antispyware? can anyone tell
     
  19. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Since it is installed, it is more than likely installs drivers too. All security software (the good ones that is) always rely on specific drivers to do their job.

    These can naturally cause conflicts with other software.
     
  20. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Thanks everyone. I decided to use Clamscan for windows portableapps on my USB stick. And weekly use kasperky free online scan.

    I won't install any AV on my HDD because they all seem to install some type of memory resident drivers etc.
     
  21. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yes, it includes detection of all malware including spyware and rootkits.
    Its the same engine as in BD commercial range.
     
  22. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    UPDATE: I am now using 30 day trial Kaspersky AV which I installed on my HDD.

    It allows me to QUIT, so I can just load it when I want to do a scan. :thumb:
     
  23. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you only want it on demand go to settings,protection and untick lanch kaspersky at start up.
     
  24. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Ok thanks :thumb:
     
  25. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    the comparison of their site says it doesn't cover antispyware
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.