Well, I used TI9 yesterday for the first time...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by J. S. Bach, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    ...to transfer everything from my laptop's 20g drive to a new 120g drive and it worked as advertised. However, HP in all of its wisdom, makes the drive totally inaccessible to the user so I am back where I started. On the other hand, my newer Toshiba has a small panel that covers the drive and it is easily removed. Unfortunately, the Toshiba drive is ATA and my replacement drive is EIDE; another plan torpedoed.

    Later Gator,
    Dave
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    On my Compaq Presario Laptop the hard drive caddy is held in place with one screw. What model HP laptop do you have?
     
  3. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    It is a "hp pavilion n5425 notebook pc" according to the sticker on the front.
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    As far as I know ATA, Pata, and Eide are the same, unless you mean Sata, then that is different.
     
  5. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    The EIDE drive has two rows of pins while the ATA uses an edge-card connection.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  6. CarolinaMike

    CarolinaMike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Posts:
    12
  7. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you, CM; that appears to be just what I can use. Actually, I got as far as the fourth step but I was afraid of breaking that plastic piece as I didn't want to apply too much force. All of this took place after removing every other visible screw on the bottom. I will try this tomorrow; it is late and I am tired; again, thank you.
     
  8. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Make sure that edge card connection is not just an adapter on the two rows of pins. I've seen some laptop drives like that. In fact I think Dell has that feature.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes it does. Confused me when I first saw it.
     
  10. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    IT Worked!! I am now using the new hard drive. A big THANK YOU to CarolinaMike for the link; it took less than fifteen minutes to do the job.
     
  11. J. S. Bach

    J. S. Bach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I checked the Toshiba and the edge-card socket is soldered directly to a circuit board; no adapters are used.
     
  12. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    The socket will be .... but the part on the hard drive is where the adapter will be if there is one - it may look at first glance to be part of the hard drive. Anyway glad you got things sorted out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.