well hidden?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by ancias, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ancias

    ancias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    my pc bugs and internet 4 times slower than usually. several virus/spyware scans done, but nothing found. i use nod,adaware, spybot,spyblaster, spywareguard,spysweeper. win98se, ie6.
    what could it be? how to repair? thanx in advance.
     
  2. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    this may not help but have you cleaned your cookies and cache in IE of late or run a scan disk and defrag lately?
     
  3. ancias

    ancias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    i had done it, but it didnt change the fact. pc still slow, often freezes, and internet even slower than last time. is it some trojan or simply my pc so damaged thats better to reformat?
     
  4. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    I would try a online scan such as http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/ as this may find some thing. You could download a trial trojan scanner also just to see if you do have any issues.
    If nothing comes up then it may pay to reformat and start again with a clean machine. good luck to you ancias. Lets know how it goes and if you find anything

    bye the way i noticed you did not mention whether or not you are running a firewall > Do you have a firewall? If not you may be wise to get one as they say you can get zapped pretty fast online with out one if your ports are not closed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2004
  5. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Hi Ancias,

    It may be a compatibility issue.
    When your PC is slow and or almost freezing do the following.

    Ctrl+Alt+Del to bring up the task Manager.
    Click on the Processes tab.
    Click on the CPU column heading twice so it sorts the list in descending order (Highest CPU listed at the top).
    See which processes are using up most of your CPU resources and post them here. Or post a screen shot of the processes.
    This will help to pinpoint the problem a little more.
    The System Idle Process CPU use is normally 97-99%. This is good as it means that you have lots of CPU left. Problems start when one process uses 80-99% CPU. If it stays there for a long time then that is the problem process. It may be that it has a compatibility issue with your resident AV monitor or other security program.
     
  6. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    hi Devinco
    what is wrong when nothing happens when you push CTRL+ALT+DEL and nothing happens?Is there another way to bring up task manager?
    thanks
    rita
     
  7. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Ooops.

    My mistake. That is how to bring up the task manager in Windows XP. I don't remember how to do that in 98 (or if there is even a task manager in Windows 98 ).
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I see you've been on most of the day Devinco, as myself (on and off).
    Correct me if I'm not mistaken, but this would be a good time to implement "Process Explorer", would it not?

    And Rita, if your on xp, right clk from the taskbar to bring it up...

    GF
     
  9. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    It should... but as GF said you can right click on Task Bar, select Task Manager

    ..or... I prefer myself... Ctrl/Shift/Esc keys... works every time here.

    Cheers, TAS
     
  10. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    GF,

    You are right. Process Explorer is a great task manager replacement. It is available for Windows 98 and ME as well as XP. Running it will allow you to sort the running processes by CPU usage to help isolate the CPU hogs.

    According to this page:
    So Process Explorer is a must for helping troubleshoot runaway programs.
    It can help Ancias on 98 and Ritaann on ME.


    Ritaann,
    I don't know why Ctrl+Alt+Del doesn't bring up at least the program manager. But process explorer will do much more.
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Devinco,

    I've read enough articles on PE to warrant a dwnld, at 230kb's and serving a vital function, great tools just don't get much easier and well thought out. The tree structure view is really handy and a smart feature (process screenie).

    For anyone having trouble isolating a problem (including our thread starter, Ancias) this is certainly a useful addition for the toolbox. Ancias, have a look at this page. It'll give you the program overview.

    GF
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2004
  12. ancias

    ancias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    i do have process explorer and kerio 2.14. the problem is my 32ram. i already tried zonealarm, and sygate, but they were demanding more ram, my pc was freezing all the time. so the least demanding was kerio, but it shows me some error messages and then he freezes again. the machine also slows down when i launch explorer, and after several minutes i have to restart my computer. or he freezes whenever. it had never happened before. either its still something well hidden inside or its because of kerio or i dont know. everytime i launch spybot he finds searchforit spyware. internet is strange, one day he works and then its slow again. even my ie doesnt show some gif animations neither. simply said, a lot of mess. thank you very much anyway guys, u do great job.
     
  13. darkmatter

    darkmatter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Hi ancias,

    Regarding the searchforlt spyware, do you run spywareblaster & spybot s&d ?

    If so had the same problem as you, if you enable all in spywareblaster then run spybot and fix that issue, then go back and open spywareblaster you will see you have 1 item unproteceted (searchforlt), you have to manually search the list to find it.

    This may be a false positive or a slight compatibilty issue, for the minute ive left mine enabled in spywareblaster and ignored the spybot s&d result. Somebody here may have a better idea whats going on than I do.
     
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Ancias,

    Darkmatter makes a valid point though I can't comment on the Spybot issue. I feel Bubba would have something on this.

    Were you able to locate any strange files on your system? Have you looked at your startups or down in the registry run keys.

    Here, explore some options on this page till you can come up with a file or someone more "in the know" can drop in.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=6341&highlight=Tassies tips

    Late notice : SpyBot

    GF
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2004
  15. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    When I had those kind of problems, and nothing showed, I got more RAM!
    It made such a difference you will be pleasantly suprised!

    Even adding 32 ram made a difference on my 98, do you have another old computer around?
    I would do that before I would reformat, it's easier!! :)

    My 2 cents!
    Marja:cool:
     
  16. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    After seeing your post Marja, I did some follow-up on this RAM bit and found some good pages at "theeldergeek.com".
    This hasn't been a problem for me as there aren't many demanding programs on my system. From what I gather,
    this could be valid in the case of Ancias.

    I'm not sure what system your on Ancias, but if the links below don't work for your system, I'm sure you could google
    similar results.

    http://www.theeldergeek.com/paging_file.htm

    http://www.theeldergeek.com/sizing_the_page_file.htm


    This one's a memory troubleshooting page,

    http://www.kingston.com/tools/umg/umg08.asp


    I hope some of this leads to a resolve, keep us posted.

    GF
     
  17. The_Usernameless_H

    The_Usernameless_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Spybot S&D has a process manager built in, and also allows you to disable programs in the startup list (and has spyware check, usage track removal - I would recommend this program hugely). Your problem sounds similar to one we had, where our computer was hacked (I think) and a virus put onto it which disabled all the virus protection programs and task manager. Look online for some emergency virus removal tools.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.