Well, for better or worse I ditched Avira Free to day and installed MS Security

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ratchet, Oct 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    Essentials on my Vista laptop. Everything seems quite normal. Anyone have any setup suggestions? Seems pretty straight forward, without a lot of configuration options like my NOD32 on the desktop. This (SE) is great for wives and seniors like me!
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    To be honest with you, starting a new thread shows this is important, which really it isn't. Why not use the many existing threads?
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I agree. Worse yet, it seems like an open invitation to an A versus B discussion. :blink:
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    sometimes people just like to say what they did without any negativity involved. The member is just talking about dropping one free AV to go with another. I dont see any harm in it.
     
  5. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    :thumb:
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    No harm in it, and also no harm in using existing threads to show it.
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    At least my read was one in which the important question raised was:

    In other words, Vista with MSE, anything else aside from a default install? Everyone seems intent on focusing on the least important aspect which is a switch in AV products.

    My own read - MSE is fine. I assume you have not disabled Vista's UAC feature. If you did disable it as many have, now might be a good time to reverse that change. I assume the native Windows firewall is active, which is fine.

    I really don't have other suggestions except, if there are multiple accounts on the machine, I'd probably create them as Standard Users, but that's about it.

    Blue
     
  8. jarvis521

    jarvis521 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hi:) ;

    On the verge towards an open discussion of "A versus B" it is..but openly there was no intention to be like it.. Avira still has good detection rate but since it was the member's preference it's okay:D .

    Actually, NOD32/Mamutu/Mbam/Spyware Doctor/OA can very much be what is needed especially "if" Sandboxie is "paid" and configured as advocated here in Wilders. Throw in PrevX and it's good!!

    Kind regards,

    jarvis521
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Fascinating! :)

    One starts with leaving Avira ... and it ends again with Sandboxie & LUA having mentioned nearly all programs in between! ;-)

    But even more interesting: jarvis521/voltron .. split personality? :) - Just curious: do you 'both' use different av solutions then and which one of 'you' is more happy without making it an a vs b thing? :D
     
  10. colt45allstar

    colt45allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    It never ceases to amaze me when people complain about threads (not only here but any forum)

    If you don't like a thread, there's no reason to read it... if you think a topic's been done to death... skip over the topic.

    Really not that difficult.
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I believe you have to enable the scanning of portable drives...something like that. I thought it was disabled by default.
     
  12. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Try to avoid creating many new threads and use the existing threads as applicable. :cool:

    In this specific case, your post can go with a few of the available threads, that's why it got that kind of responses:p

    Let's move on:ninja:
     
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It never ceases to amaze me when people complain about people who complain. Griping about gripers... go figure. ;)

    Meanwhile, I wish for OP that he has much success using MSE. Hopefully we will hear back from him -- as to his satisfaction with MSE -- after he has used it for a while.
     
  14. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Actually many ppl misunderstand that option. It says it scans removable drives when running a full scan. I don't insert any removable media to my PC when I perform a full scan. And it has nothing to do with real-time protection. Just right-click and scan when you insert a storage environment.

    Furthermore, full scans shouldn't be necessarily performed that frequently, it'll be a waste of time. If you always keep your removable drive plugged and want MSE to scan it while full scan, then that's OK. Otherwise it's obviously not a must-selected option.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  15. colt45allstar

    colt45allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    Fair enough I set myself up for that one.

    I too wish nothing but the best for the original poster and their new program of choice.

    I've heard nothing but good things about the program, but I'm firmly a Kaspersky guy
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i ditched Avira a year ago and never came back again and i tell you all i never probably will.I have nothing against Avira itself but i never liked the way it treated the virus it finds and the update thing really is a pain in the neck. Many still use it and will.
    For now both AVG with all the bugs and Avira with the update really is something i am not going to get used too.
     
  17. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Not using MSE currently, but when I was, think it's a fine AV/AS. M$ did right with this security product. :thumb:
    Ice
     
  18. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I used to use Avire PE on my main pc because for a single engine scanner Avira rocks and uses the least amount of resources of any AV I've used. However, it kept flagging some core components of other software as malicious (it wasn't) which in turn caused that software to no longer work. I reported this to Avira but it kept happening so I switched to MSE. Avira's a great product it just wasn't working for me. If I had paid for a license I would have pursued a solution but since it's free I decided to move on.
     
  19. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I run (alternately) XP Home SP-2 and XP Pro SP-2, and after sorting through a couple of problems I was having with Avast 5.0.167 (the latest build), I'm back to using it in place of Avira (free) which has, lately, been causing a noticeable slowdown in web surfing.

    I've tried MSE several times but never stay with it for long.
    First, I find the slow scan times exasperating.
    -But mostly;
    I still have a problem accepting Microsoft as a top-tier security provider.
    Perhaps I'll be proven very wrong, but for now, I just don't trust MSE to the extent that I do Avast or Avira.
    (Or Eset, Kaspersky, or Bit Defender).
     
  20. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    you got a problem with somebody opening a thread to get answers to something they ask directly?,you'd rather have them fish around for relevant info?If this thread is as worthless as you seem to feel,just ignore it and don't post in it!
     
  21. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I think MS Security Essentials is pretty decent too. It's simple, free, and does the job without giving me any issues. In default settings when you find a threat it pops up a box and if you want to quarantine the infected object you need to select quarantine and click on apply actions and not clean computer otherwise it will delete the object without quarantining. Other than that it is simple and straight forward.
     
  22. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Yeah lets spam up the forum with more meaningless threads about the same repetitive subject to make the smaller more unique, and actually useful threads even harder to find. Sounds like a brilliant idea.
     
  23. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    My god. Give it up and just answer the main OP's question if you cant do that then just simply don't post. But Quit hijacking this thread just so you can have a epeen war.
     
  24. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    What do you want me to say..? The thread ended when Blue answered. There really is nothing to say, every other post was really a "what I use". :doubt:
     
  25. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Let's close the discussion out here. The material has clearly been exhausted.

    Thread closed.

    Blue
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.