Weird problems

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Chrishuff1, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I just got this pc in the shop for a cleanup. I've run Adaware pro, spybot, and trojan hunter, all scan clean as does norton. I've also run panda softs online scan and trendmicros as well, all scan clean but I think there's still something on there...

    basically what happens, is when your typing in a text box or trying to search for something, be it in IE or firefox it will automatically redirect you to the address bar...this ONLY happens with IE or firefox, you can type into AIM/MSN/microsoft word with no problems...has me stumped. anyone got any thoughts or experienced this before?

    thanks in advance!
     
  2. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Does it make any difference if you set the address bar not to operate as a search bar?

    In IE you go to Tools/Internet Options/Advanced scroll down to 'Search from the address bar' and select 'Do not search from address bar' (normally you'd use 'just go to the most likely site').
     
  3. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8

    Thanks for the input, but that did not make a difference :(
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I don't understand.

    Maybe because I use Opera 99.9%.
     
  5. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    The only other thing I can think of is go to IE/Tools/Internet Options/Programs and choose "Reset web settings" .

    The trouble is the problem is not browser specific, thus tinkering with settings may not be enough. So perhaps it would be best to run a check on windows files using System File Checker (sfc.exe). Just click Start/run and enter:-

    SFC /scannow

    That will look for damaged and corrupted system files.
     
  6. Technog33k

    Technog33k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Rootkit I'm afraid. Quicker to dump an image on it and restore the backed up files. Learn how to use Systernals process explorer - good bit of kit.
     
  7. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
  8. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8

    what exactly do you mean by this? a image of/from what? so far none of the programs listed have found anything....:(
     
  9. si_ed

    si_ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Please clarify this. What do you mean by "automatically redirect you to the address bar"?
     
  10. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    what i mean is, for example, as i reply in this text box, while i am typing it will automatically stop typing in the text box and my typing will begin in the address bar for several key strokes and then i cannot type at all until i click back into the text box and the process repeats itself. again, this only happens in browsers, microsoft word and IM programs are not affected at all....

    i did scans with the rootkit things but they came up empty, as well as the resetting all settings in IE. now it hasnt shot up there yet after doing that, so we'll see if that did the trick or not....

    thanks for all the replies, i really appreciate it.
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,304
    Location:
    England
  12. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    IE's integrated into Windows, but you can deal with it via 'Add/Remove Windows Components' in the Add/Remove programs section.

    Also, you can roll back to IE6 and then upgrade to IE7 again. I'd only do that as a last resort though, if resetting to default does not work.
     
  13. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8

    Thanks for the link, I'll give that a try when I get home...hope it works!
     
  14. Chrishuff1

    Chrishuff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I have tried removing IE and reinstalling but to no avail. same stupid problem. however i did install opera and have 0 problems with it. if i open IE/firefox, typing is a chore to say the least, but if i alt/tab to opera, nothin. while it is a temporary fix, i still would like to get to the bottom of this....
     
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Hope you get it sorted.

    At least you're using Opera now. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.