Webroot v8.0.2.14 arrgghhh!

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Biscuit, Sep 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Happily using 8.0.1.229 for some time. I bought for my own system & resell the AV version only, because I don't like the intrusive part of the Firewall in suites.

    Now 8.0.2.14 has auto updated on my laptop, making the laptop noticeably slower with long lags when I click on the browser (Firefox). I downloaded Pale Moon to do some work in that & the new Webroot popped up & blocked it! I turned off several things & just about managed to install it, but like Firefox, it's running slow.

    I resell Webroot AV because it has little noticeable effect on the PC performance, but at a stroke, you've put it in the same league as AVG.

    I turn off Firewall & the ID "protection" & then get my icon greyed out. I can't have it looking like that for my end users.

    Questions:
    How can I turn off all the new parts of Webroot to make it work the same as before?
    or
    How can I reinstall the old version & stop it from updating?

    This is really a deal-breaker.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    They have forced the firewall onto us PAID AV users
    and there isn't a thing we can do about it

    I brought a AV and not a firewall, I didn't want a firewall
    when I brought it, starting to sound like Windows 8 Metro
    to me or along the same line "as being forced on us"

    When it comes time for my renewal I will tell them with my wallet

    It is a shame that a lot of company's have to keep adding more crap
    to their programs, a lot of programs do this, one I can think of is Nero
    it used to be a fine program until they just keep on putting more crap
    in it and it comes to the point that it is time to say goodbye

    good luck in finding a replacement for WRSA, I think maybe more AV
    will become truly cloud based or least I hope so, I'm looking for a replacement
    now myself but I think it may be a while before I can find one

    even-though I don't use it myself you might want to look at Panda Cloud AV
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2012
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Actually I like it too or I did
    it's a shame they had to mess it up
    it WAS the best PURE AV and lightest
    I had ever used
     
  4. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    It looks actually with due respect you have only just recently started using WSA again after 2 years & were happy & surprised your license still worked?

    I think you will find slowdowns with Panda cloud big-time as I have tried it though admittedly in Beta - I run WSA on a quad core with zillions of RAM down to my ancient DELL lappy that I hang on to & rebuild because I still use a serial port with some gear I maintain (and it enjoys living in a van & survives being abused). I've recently just done some messing around with it with WSA installed/uninstalled (essentials) on it & are unable to detect any performance changes in either scenario & lappys don't come much older than my DELL, I did this as an example to a friend who was wondering about the impact WSA has in real life situations so I chose the slowest PC I have access to.

    From a purely personal stance the WSA firewall is anything but intrusive.

    Edited for appalling grammar -
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know your configuration options and what other security software you're using? This wouldn't be caused by the new functionality - it is more likely just something within the product itself which is conflicting. It would also be worth writing into our support inbox and having them whitelist your system, which should improve performance significantly.

    If you're having an issue with the WSA Firewall, I strongly recommend using the default settings (warn only when infected). It will then step out of the way unless an infection is found and just take firewall events silently into account in the behavior monitoring of WSA. This was already in place in the AV product previously.

    Because of the firewall monitoring just being built on top of WSA's behavior monitoring, there is a zero percent impact on performance to have it visible and enabled with the default settings.
     
  6. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    You should understand that I'm not just concerned with my own laptop, it's my end users that I don't want then to put up with this.

    No other security installed. Windows XP Pro, Firewall refused to allow me to download & install Pale Moon.

    I would like the Firewall & browser "features" off completely, but I don't want the system tray icon greyed out.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    What exactly was the prompt you received? The firewall should never block you from installing something.

    And what are your configuration options for WSA?
     
  8. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I am sorry but my laptop is now packed ready for a trip tomorrow morning.

    The firewall first warned me about the Pale Moon download site & then refused to install the Pale Moon web downloader. I used the full download instead.

    I'd like to turn all that stuff off, or preferably install the old Webroot version. It's the reason that I resale the AV version - not the Essentials or other suites.
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    A screenshot would definitely be helpful here. The firewall won't prevent installation in any case so wires may be getting crossed. There are new protection elements which could create prompts on higher configuration settings, but the defaults should be very silent.

    Let me know once you have access to the PC again, and it would also be worth sending a scan log to me so that I can take a look at exactly what prompt was shown.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    "It looks actually with due respect you have only just
    recently started using WSA again after 2 years & were happy
    & surprised your license still worked?"

    This is true, I uninstalled it a long time ago because of some
    bugs that it had and to their credit they seem to all be resolved:thumb:

    I always have like the concept of this AV although it is a little heavy,
    now I don't mean in terms of performance, it just has far more setting
    than is actually needed kind of like ImgBurn but believe me I like that
    software too:thumb:

    But when you try to be a all in one program sometimes that's is when
    the program becomes heavy, if they want to stop bad'ies from connecting
    to the internet that is fine, they could had done that in the background
    and I do see your point on the icon showing something is turned off
    and it being shoved in your face that the firewall is off

    If you turned it off you already know this, what this comes down to is
    they are trying to make this system cover as many of the general pubic
    as they can to increase sales " I'm OK with that"
    but there are other people out there that likes their system lean and mean
    maybe we should have that option and in this case it was taken away from us,
    oh well all this doesn't matter anymore, I'll keep checking from time to time and see
    if they ever offer a AV only which is what "I PAID FOR"
    and if they do I will be installing it for sure:cool:
     
  11. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    I occasionally use Pale Moon which is a trimmed down Firefox Clone but I always use the offline installer & never had any issues, but after looking on the site a few minutes ago after reading this thread I got a block when attempting to use the 'web installer' which I have never used before as I rarely use web installers. Hope this helps.

    The site is: http://www.palemoon.org/

    Pop-Up screen shot enclosed
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  12. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    I am one of those people & looking in Task Manager & elsewhere WSA (Essentials) is actually using 776k of RAM - If you find any security solution which uses less resources & is effective I too shall install & if needed purchase it !
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    I did not say it was heavy in terms of performance
     
  14. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    There are two main issues I have with software: The first is a program that grows exponentially with each release or uses a Web Installer to hide the true size of program. The second is a program that uses large amounts of RAM & or CPU cycles -

    I feel WSA falls into neither of these categories & is actually using less resources than any program running on this PC - Add to that it's probably the most compatible AV solution to use with other AV products on Earth - The install size is unbelievably small & so is the true size on disc so I can't find a reason not to use WSA & recommend it to others without hesitation.

    I can only wonder what AV you are going to find that is either smaller or uses less resources, as I have looked & as of yet have found none - Though happy hunting :D

    As regards the icon changing colour when the firewall is disabled I do see your point but WSA is used by users who may switch the firewall off & forget or may not know they have even done it in the first place - I suppose it's difficult to cater for every type of PC user from very advanced to a new user?

    Edited:
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    FYI: Since Pale Moon is being mentioned here and a problem with its web installer, you may want to also have a look at this thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=331082
    If you use Identity Protection with Pale Moon, it is a known issue that this will break Adobe Flash Player and make it unusable. I just wanted to bring this to your attention so if this problem occurs you will realize the cause.

    Note: Since WRSA's Identity Protection module does not automatically recognize Pale Moon, you have to manually add it to the protected application list in order to have Identity Protection. You can of course run Pale Moon without Identity Protection enabled but of course you will then not have that protection.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  16. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Amen!:thumb: :thumb:
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    776k of ram.!
    WOW and WOW again.That is incredible.I suppose that is an average figure.
    I dont think anything lighter than this is in existence.
    Nice work webroot.:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There are two processes though but they are still very low! :)

    TH

    Capture27-09-2012-6.47.28 PM.jpg
     
  19. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    There wasn't a lot happening then but after just installing Firefox beta 16.5 & faffing around on the net all night WSA is still 4000 kb or so.

    I was updating & cleaning a friends PC today that has another AV on that's free (ends with 'G') & looking in hidden files the size on disc that I counted was just under 400 meg & just idling it was using around 40,000 kb :eek:
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I think the FW is a great addition since it can be adjusted to have no impact on system performance. Prevx V2 use to have similar functionality.
     
  21. claudiu

    claudiu Guest

    "I was updating & cleaning a friends PC today that has another AV on that's free (ends with 'G') & looking in hidden files the size on disc that I counted was just under 400 meg & just idling it was using around 40,000 kb "
    __________________
    Hi PC Fiddler,

    The free AV you are talking about, ending in "G", has a resident signatures database which will protect you the same regardless of your on-line /off-line status, hence the 40000kb

    The paid AV you are so happy with, ending in "A", will protect you when you are off-line only based on heuristic and behaviour; unfortunately , the AV ending in "A" refused to be tested on AV Comparatives based on heuristic and behaviour ,see:

    http://www.av-comparatives.org/comparativesreviews/retrospective-test

    Claudiu
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2012
  22. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    I'm thinking that's where the Prevx half kicks in..
     
  23. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,203
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    Light RAM usage is not necessary means low impact on system, Norton for example uses less RAM than ESET but ESET is lighter than Norton on the system 's responsiveness.
     
  24. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Doesn't really matter because we all spend all our time online anyway, so why waste that 40MB 100% of the time just in case we are offline and happen to somehow put a bad file on our computer while we're offline. Which of course is the other question: How would you download a bad file when offline anyway?

    If you're so worried about, then maybe you need to waste that space with another program. The rest of us don't worry and prefer to pay lower memory and system costs.

    Anyway, the "A" thing has caught plenty of things that the "G" thing missed until two weeks later on my system, so I'm not sure that resident database really helps in reality. Only in some peoples' odd little worlds.
     
  25. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    232
    Precisely, besides with todays pc's with 4, 6 or 8GB ram being very normal it's irrelevant, in fact i would much prefer security tool to yse say 300 to 500mb if it means it will actually speed up whatever it's processing instead of conceding to other programs to save ram with "magic" tricks.

    A good example is WSE (8.0.2.14) and Panda cloud which i both use, there a big difference between what they use with regards to ram, but they are both light in daily use. So IMO ram is a poor choice for judging inpact on a system when speaking a modern pc with 4 to 8 gb ram. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.