Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well that's what you have to do!

    Jack
    one of Webroot's Support Managers just got back to me on this! Hope it helps!

    "Hi Daniel,

    This was an interesting one, after a bit of testing and asking around we got this –

    32-bit applications can access the native system directory by substituting %windir%\Sysnative for %windir%\System32.

    Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP: The Sysnative alias was added starting with Windows Vista.

    Also, you can add OneDrive by manually adding the sysnative path to the add file window for 64bit - C:\windows\sysnative\SkyDrive.exe

    And Also, you can add OneDrive by manually adding the system32 path to the add file window for 32bit - C:\windows\system32\SkyDrive.exe
    Regards,

    Jack"


    If you feel that's not good enough feel free to Contact Webroot Customer Service and ask them is there another way!

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2015
  2. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    411
    Question:
    If you use the free Webroot SecureAnywhere Identity Shield v 8.0.3.3, is there any difference in protection of the Identity Shield component, compared to the latest WSA products?

    /E
     
  3. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    re: Webroot Console:
    Recently registered for the "webrootanywhere".
    I am running WRA on two machines. Both display properly.
    However, in PC Security, a third machine GORILLAMOTORS is listed (using my Keycode)!??
    Whereby I have the option to Shutdown, Lock, or Disable this phantom computer.
    This doesn't give me the warm & fuzzies.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes as they continue to update all engines with new updates Including the Identity Shield. And v8.0.3.3 is very old!

    Version 8.0.3.3 (Released Sept 24th, 2013)
    Updated

    • Updated build number to allow compatibility with Windows 8.1. No other changes.
    http://www5.nohold.net/Webroot/ukp.aspx?pid=10&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&solutionid=857&#8033

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That is very odd if you want to know more Submit a Support Ticket and ask them what's up? Also you can Deactivate from the Online Console see here: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere-Antivirus/How-to-Deactivate-a-PC/ta-p/31240

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  6. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Thanks Daniel.
    Support Ticket sent.
    What's disconcerting is, if I chose to Shutdown, Lock, or Disable THEIR machine, are my boxes visible / vulnerable in the account(s) of someone else?
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Not what I have seen so that's why I think it's best to contact them and find out what has happened! Please let us know what they say!

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  8. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    411
    Thanks Daniel,
    Do you know why Webroot keep such an old version in circulation?
    It seems to serve no purpose if users think they are protected, as they know it is a cloud product if you know what I mean. (Updated in the cloud and so on)
    And if you press the update link in the GUI you get that you have the latest version.
    Is there a updated free version with only the Identity shield that is used now?
    If not I think Webroot should scrap older versions with lesser protection capability's, just to avoid bad publicity if the old versions starts to let bad things in.

    /E
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They are on your Ticket so you will get a reply soon!

    Daniel :)
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please do a clean reinstall of WSA and Please follow the steps closely!

    • Make sure you have a copy of your 20 Character Alphanumeric Keycode! Example: SA69-AAAA-A783-DE78-XXXX
    • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
    • Download a Copy Here (Best Buy Subscription PC users click HERE)
    • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
    • Install with the new installer, enter your Keycode and don't import any settings if asked to as you can set it up as you like once it's done
    • Let it finish it's install scan
    • Reboot once again
    Please let us know if that resolves your issue?

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  11. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Will do.
    Curious also, WRA's PC Security lists Key Code & previous Trial Key Code. Trial Key Code is not the Trial Key Code I was issued / used (same trial Key Code is on the phantom mach.)
    I suspected some impropriety on part of the third party vendor (from whom this soft was purchased), but the fact that the phantom machine activated WRA the same day as me is a heck of a coincidence...
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it's odd and they will look into it!

    I found it and we’re hot on its trail.

    Thanks again for the heads up,

    Shawn Townsend| Manager, Product Support


    Daniel :)
     
  13. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    411
    I do not have any issue, and this is a FREE product. (no keycode) this is only the Identity Shield, no malware removal, no realtime file protection.
    When I found it a couple of days ago I thought it was Webroots answer to for example the free version of Trusteer Rapport.
    That is why I have these strange questions :)

    /E
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There is no free version so what you have is an illegal version would you mind sending me the link to the place where you got it via PM?
     
  15. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    411
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you a BBT user? If not it's illegal and I will get that sorted thanks!

    2015-05-11_14-48-21.png
     
  17. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    411
    No, I am not a BBT user.
    I feel sorry for those who are, if the bank promotes a weak version of the Identity Shield.

    EDIT! Do you want me to remove the link to the download?
    /E
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's being looked into!

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  19. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,119
    Any banks currently offers Webroot free for their customers?
     
  20. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I know that Ally does. (Antivirus, not the complete suite.)
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here is the info I got:

    "Yes, the ID Shield hasn’t seen development since 8.0.3 days so it is very much the same. We did make one change to be able to disable the ID Shield by the GUI completely in a 8.0.4 build but that is basically the only big change. Shawn Townsend| Manager, Product Support"

    Any changes has been on the back end on the WIN Cloud.

    HTH,

    Daniel
     
  23. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    957
    HSBC UK use Trusteer Rapport.
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,749
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  25. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    Since I have paid for webroot licenses, and would prefer to still put this software to use,, I am going to put it on my testing rig and not install EMET to see if EMET was conflicting and giving me those horrific performance issues.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.