Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    268
    Webroot filtering extension seems to be working slow since the last update. Anyone else having this issue? Time between transitions when changing sites on the internet has risen dramatically.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes there is an issue and the BrightCloud Team are asking for verbose logs if anyone is willing to do this and send me the logs it would be much appreciated: https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...s-quite-noticeable-slowdown/m-p/184901#M12877

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i have not personally seen an issue today so not sure if my log would help but i can send it tomm morning if you can use it.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They want logs from users with Browsing issues and any FP's. I don't have any issues and us Beta testers have the new Web Filter Extension 1.1.0.55 and the all New Web Filter Driver activated with our BETA keycodes but it looks like the one's with Web Filter Extension 1.0.2.42 and no Driver.

    Thanks anyways but if you do have issues and set to Verbose Logging like I posted at the Community via the Registry from 1 to 3 that would be useful.

    Daniel ;)
     
  7. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    268
    Looks like the problem has been resolved. Not seeing anymore lags in internet use. My laptop uses Vista 32-bit os. Old Lenovo Ideapad Y510 still going strong.

    Edit: Spoke too soon. After rebooting it felt quicker for awhile. It seems the lag is worse in intranet situation, moving from frame to frame or area to area within the same internet location. Going across internet sites isn't slowed down much.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well if you like contact support and put in the Ticket to the BrightCloud team so they get your info! Webroot Customer Service

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ahh gotcha okay thanks. i just got home a little while ago and have not had much time to check the beta forums over there.
     
  10. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    268
    The problem is solved now. Back to normal.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,457
    Location:
    Outer space
  12. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    I have the beta WSA-Complete installed and the other day while looking for something unrelated I found these LastPass temp language files that WSA is downloading up to three times a day to my machine. Most of those files are 7.56mb in size and the contents are identical.
    Why would WSA keep downloading identical language files, sometimes only 4mins apart when I do not even have the Password Manager activated and no toolbar . Anybody else seeing the same thing. You have to enable 'Hidden Files' to see them by the way.
    I tried to see if there were any similar posts at the Webroot forum but that place is such a mess that I gave up in the end.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    WSA doesn't clean up itself so well there when you do a clean reinstall you should manually delete all those! Now if you WSA installed look for the latest to keep and delete the rest.

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)

    EDIT: I one's your showing in Appdata\Local\Temp you can delete all those as that is normal, but there should be one in Appdata\Local and don't delete that one if you have more than one follow what I said before the edit!
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
  14. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    Daniel,
    I know I can delete the one's in that folder, the system optimizer also cleans them out. What I'm querying is why WSA keeps downloading duplicate language files. Just look at the size of most of them - 7.56mb. I have just been investigating a bit more and find that there are either two or three of these files downloaded at the same time every time the machine is either started or rebooted. WHY?
    Anyone who doesn't know about them and doesn't have hidden files showing will soon accumulate a very large collection of apparently duplicate files. Surely you only need one set of language files, it's not as though a language file needs updating every time you start or reboot the machine. I've now got 15 of them since I reinstalled WSA on the 01 Feb. What I want to know is why. Why does a user need so many apparently duplicate language files? I also cannot understand why those files are so large.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm looking into it and when I get a reply I will let you know.

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  16. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    Thank you Daniel :thumb:
     
  17. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,131
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I just installed a update for MozyHome and WSA started to Monitor Mozystat.exe. I did a scan with Defraggler and saw that WSA already had a growing file with hundreds of fragments because of the monitor of Mozy. To bad there is not a way to disable the auto monitor or deny part and have the user get a notice to either treat unwhitelisted stuff as either whitelisted or to monitor or deny so i don't have to keep deleting these dbxxxx.db monitor files every time i update Mozy or any other app that WSA has not whitelisted.
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Unless Mozy update every few hours or days then it only take two clicks to get to the WSA monitoring window and set Mozy as trusted. Not much effort. I personally see the advantage of an option of bulk whitelisting but also can see the risk linked to possible tampering of the application that may go unnoticed due to the exclusion.
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,131
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    When i set Mozy as Allowed it does not stop the dbxxxx.db from getting bigger and getting more file fragments. It has to be whitelisted in the cloud by WSA.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2015
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm still in discussion with them on this one so far because it's the weekend they say it's no worries as it's the Language files for the LassPass Password Manager, on that note anyone that uses Lasspass without WSA installed does it do the same?

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  22. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    779
    I have 9 lptmpXXXX folders too, and I reported that on wilders back when Joe was here. Btw, thanks to Daniel for the submission link of webroot, wasnt aware of that.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Dark Star 72 & @subhrobhandari here is the reply I got from a Webroot Escalation Engineer!

    Sounds about right for LUA users and mutiple user accounts even for one's like myself that run as Admin only.

    HTH,

    Daniel :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,131
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    WRData dbxxxx.db keeps getting bigger and having more fragments that i have to defrag during the day. There must be a way to keep the fragments to a low level.
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There is only one way Submit a Support Ticket to get your files Whitelisted and once that is done you can delete the db.numbers.db files.

    TH
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.