Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have a look at the WIN Cloud: http://www.brightcloud.com/platform/webroot-intelligence-network.php and all the work is done in the Cloud and not on your PC.

    TH :)

    2014-06-26_13-24-28.png
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Sorry dan. So when it installed it made a folder in programs but dropped the exe on the desktop. Not really sure why. Maybe because I didn't put appguard to install. So I just shut down the protection and ran the uninstall from the elevated CMD. Everything went smooth and it's now running flawlessly. Oh and the whole explorer high mem usage thing is indeed fixed with that new update. Happy days! My favorite trio is back. WSA/Sandboxie/Appguard.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to hear!

    TH :)
     
  4. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,709
    Excessive CPU for WSA at boot. However, when I shutdown WSA and restart it is then OK. I don't understand why it is so.

    ScreenShot_WSA_excessive CPU at boot_01.gif ScreenShot_WSA_excessive CPU at boot_02.gif
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2014
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Look here to see if anything is being Monitored also if any programs updated make sure there running as well: http://www.webroot.com/En_US/Secure..._SystemControl/CH10b_ControllingProcesses.htm
    Also you can do a scan and save a scan log and if you have more than 20 [U ] files then contact Webroot Customer Service to get the files whitelisted.

    Code:
    [U] c:\program files (x86)\burnaware premium\burnaware.exe [MD5: 09A0DB4CC06EC6620867135F82C7BED5] [Flags: 10081101.3646]
    [U] c:\program files (x86)\burnaware premium\datadisc.exe [MD5: 5262423B6255B2141603CF58BA28856D] [Flags: 00081001.3637]
    [U] c:\program files (x86)\burnaware premium\copydisc.exe [MD5: A76C94CDEAD6B8BB42081A4A2758D1FD] [Flags: 00081001.3652]
    TH :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2014
  8. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    Well major issues, had to do 2 forced reboots via pc reset button, long time many years since had to do this.

    Basically with web shield enabled when I start my IE session the entire windows becomes unresponsive, I guess this AV isn't that light ;)

    Even with that off IE startup is laggy and slow but does manage to load.

    So questions.

    1 - webroot doesnt scan emails, how does it protect against email drive by viruses?
    2 - webroot doesn't feel the need to scan emails yet wants a separate web scanner? is webroot good enough with this broken web shield disabled?
    3 - how do I make webroot settings survive reboots? any changes I make in the settings are reset every reboot.
    4 - in the active connections box, only lan addresses are shown, otherwise box is blank. this is normal?
    5 - in the protection statistics box it is showing very high rates of activity, e.g. approx. 2000 registry events every second, seems crazy. is this normal for win7? trying to assess what these are, some are userassist registry entries but is others also, another is device/classes and it says its creating blank keys?
    6 - Does webroot have HIPS?

    I removed nod32 due to the IE issue, incase was a conflict.
     
  9. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    "detect and block malicious websites" I think is the culprit.

    I enabled it with IE still open.

    Started going back and forwards on google search pages. Noticed after each page load the browser stopped responding for about 3-4 seconds, after 10 times or so the entire OS started been unresponsive, thankfully I was able to navigate webroot and turn it off, within 10 seconds OS became responsive again and browser lag stopped. In addition with it on pages take about 3-4x as long to load.

    Also it asked me if I wanted to allow an app access to the internet which I allowed yesterday (forgot settings?) and this app had been accessing the net for about 2 hours before it prompted me, lol.

    "enable real time anti phishing" seems fine. Although also useless as modern browsers show the true url now anyway.
     
  10. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    I know that somewhere in this thread is a comparison or discussion about Webroot mobile and which version of the computer version allows you to use which version of the mobile product?!

    My question is if I have a license for Internet Security Plus, does that allow me to use the Premier version of the mobile product? Or, do I have to use the free version of the mobile product?
     
  11. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    on their website the description says you can use on mobile devices, I know as that's the product I got.

    By the way here is a copy of my post on the webroot forum.

    also failing eicar txt file test, detected if I save to disk, no detection if I open directly in a app.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  12. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    guess what happens when clicking run on eicar.com binary o_O

    "Windows has encountered a critical problem and will restart automatically in one minute"

    I can also confirm the identity protection slows things down as well, but in that case the system just freezes for about 10 seconds when loading IE instead of been indefinite, and IE pauses for about 5 seconds on shutdown instead of been instant.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes since you have WSA-ISP you install the Free version then add your Keycode to make it Premier also download the Free SecureWeb Browser: https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...hich-Android-Version-Do-I-Download/ta-p/37300

    Cheers,

    Daniel :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Now for your questions I have answered them at the Webroot Community! https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...rnet/very-bad-web-shield-problems/td-p/174443 if you have further questions feel free to ask!

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  15. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    I will do whats requested tomorrow, sadly I am discovering more issues tho such as when I exit a full screen game the system lags massively, I uninstalled it and the lag disappeared, reinstalled and it came back.

    I was considering keeping this alongside nod32 with a lot of options turned off but it seems very noticeble on performance. Makes my quad core haswell feel like a 386 :(
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you can run both but it's best to contact support to get any needed files Whitelisted and that will bring it back to normal!

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  17. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
  18. shorTcircuiT

    shorTcircuiT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    United States
    Alexhousek,

    When one renews, the key code does not change. If you received a new key code, then you did not actually renew.. it is a new purchase.

    Try this:

    Click the gear tool next to My Account
    Enter the key code again
    Click Activate
    REBOOT the computer

    Open WSA again and check the status.

    One thing to note is that if either the old key code or the new key code, but not both, are a Best Buy Subscription Software key code you may need to re-install using the correct download for the new key code.

    I hope this helps!
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you have an old keycode as shorTcirciT suggested?

    TH
     
  20. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Sorry guys. It wasn't a "renewal", but a new key code.

    REBOOT the computer is the thing I hadn't/haven't done. Maybe that's the trick?!

    Thanks for the assistance!
     
  21. shorTcircuiT

    shorTcircuiT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    United States
    So I take it that things are working now? The reboot shouldnt have to be the trick, but I have seen it a few times. I have also seen it happen with renewals too when the key code remains the same.... just redo the keycode and reboot. Odd, but hopefully it did the trick for you!
     
  22. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    I grepped my scan.log and is 33249 unknown files, I guess this explains why my system feels slow its monitoring 33k files when used? I did also notice to do this I loaded a sftp client to upload log file to Linux server, password manager and ssh client (securecrt) all of which launched slowly. I launched all 3 twice to allow for caching speedups and were slow 2nd+ times as well, these are launched of a fast ssd as well.

    The concept of webroot is good, I like the idea of whitelisting but to me it seems in its infancy, the database of safe files would seem too immature given the 33k unknown files on my system, am I supposed to submit these one by one to get them known?

    In addition some may know me on here that I use the custom permanentDEP dll to harden DEP and this was silently disabled by webroot, I believe I found a way to prevent this by disabling check OS integrity but I would have been liked to be served a prompt as a power user. It also removed my notepad redirect to notepad2. Who knows what other custom registry tweaks it has undone silently. :(

    --edit

    ok correction is 122 unknown files, I noticed the log also includes a lot of monitoring lines for programs etc. So I removed those and recounted.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As I said Contact Webroot Customer Service and they will help you just tell them what you have posted here we can only show you the way but they can do the fixing.

    TH
     
  24. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,879
    Location:
    US
    Any reasons why WSA is not included in AV-Comperatives testing?
     
  25. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    This forum thread best explains the agreement between AV-C and Webroot about the testing of their product.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.