Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    So, UAC is not necessary if I have VS? You're sure?


    EDIT: OK, I accessed 'user access control' settings, and moved the slider to the "Never Notify" position. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Absolutely if it's the Pro version! The only security software i use is WSA, VS and Glasswire and that's it.
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    Okey dokey. :thumb:
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    I just remembered that I added Emsisoft EAM to my security arsenal on my laptop, late last year [October], and that may have changed the integrity of the system.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    aGAIN YOUR ISSUE NOT MINE!
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    I never said it was your issue. :p

    P.S. BTW, I haven't got any notifications by email, yet, from Webroot about the latest beta.

    I am not too keen to log into the new look Webroot Community. I don't like the change.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I never said it was my issue but it's hard to get to you as you use so many security software but you complain when WSA tries to update to the newest Beta version! Then you bitch about it's a WSA issue! Goodnight buddy!
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    Daniel, keep your shirt on. ;) I never complained, for one thing. I only post anything in the forums to inform, and these were my observations. That's all! :)
     
  9. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Believe me, you're not the only one that isn't too keen about the New Look at the Webroot Community. :eek:
     
  10. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    :argh:

    Tarnak, did you receive my recent PM to you about this?
     
  11. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    This beta release appears, on my side at least, to have resolved the problem of long scan times that some of us were encountering and that seemed to begin with the previous consumer version 9.0.24.37 (released Nov 27th).
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to hear and this was on? Win 10 wasn't affected.
     
  13. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    See my (longer) post in the Beta Forum.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    "This beta update seems to have resolved the problem for me (and maybe for others, also, who have been reporting this problem?) which I had been encountering on my XP and Win 7 devices (but not on my Win 10 device)"
     
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764

    They [Webroot] ;) must have read my post, because I can't log into the community. :(

    WSA_can't login to the Webroot Community_01.JPG


    As you can see I am having difficulty logging in to the community. I don't see why, because my password hasn't changed, at least not by me.
     
  16. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    It is OK....I found the instructions. Apparently, I had to do a reset for the account. I am sure I didn't have to go through this rigmarole for the previous change 'in look' to the Webroot Community forums. It seems only just months ago, that they last changed the look of the community. Ah well....:thumbd:
     
  17. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    I assume that's because of the change of platform. They had been using Lithium as their Forum platform but they've now changed to inSided.

    Also, @Tarnak, nice to see you're back with us on the Beta channel ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764
    Hi @Muddy3

    I still can't get used to this change that Webroot has made with their Community. It is enough do my head in. :argh:

    As to being on the Beta channel, how do tell that I have access? Do Webroot send an e-mail?
     
  19. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    As far as I remember, yes. There will also be a EULA agreement you will have to read and agree to.

    But they say you should "allow one business day for this to take place". So if I were you, I would leave it another 24 hours or so, and if you have no news by then, get back to Lara.

    Hope that helps.
     
  20. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    429
    Happy to be able to report that the new Beta version has resolved the slow scanning issue on my Windows 7 Pro machine.
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,764

    Hi @Muddy3

    I got the link, which was to a 3 question survey, to enable participation in the Beta. So, one step further... ;)
     
  22. Nevi

    Nevi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Hi.
    I just found this place. I have used WRSA since the Prev X days, and nothing have touched my machine. Right now I use NOD 32, but I probably start to use WRSA again sooner or later. I'm coming in a security forum, and there it seems almost everybody think only running WRSA is bad security.No tips for guessing where it is.:D
    At the moment I have installed NVTs Syshardener. It seems to be a good idea, and it don't really use resources. Are other people here running WRSA as only real-time protection?
     
  23. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yes. Me.

    I've used Prevx, then Webroot, since late 2006. I used it alongside Nod32 (Eset) until 2013. Since then, I've used it as a standalone.

    I transitioned from Prevx to Webroot in late 2011.
     
  24. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    Update 9. 0.24.49 is out now
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,839
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.