Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Check to see if the Browser extensions are installed? If not do another clean reinstall with a reboot in between and don't import any old settings.
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    825
    new download v9.0.24.37
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    .
    Thanks
     
  4. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    187
    Wasn't turned on duh...Would using a vpn add to security with WSA?
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    A VPN is always a good add-on especially when your not at home and at places like cafe's, hotels, airports and such!
     
  6. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    187
    Thanks..Just got Pure Vpn 79 bucks for 5 years..
     
  7. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    904
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  9. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    It seems Webroot is using the same rollout method that Eset uses. There is no yearly version update. All updates are rolled out throughout the year as soon as they are stable. I like this method much better than some yearly version update where you have to wait until the end of the year to get new features.
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Correct no year is added anymore (2 or 3 years now) and they keep working on new features and roll them out when there ready and in the works are Script Shield and Anti-Exploit on the road map!
     
  11. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I think it's the best way to release updates. I hate AV's that brand their products ______ AV 2019, but I understand the marketing angle to the masses. There's no reason to delay releasing something if it's ready to be released. Rolling updates out in modules also makes it easier to identify bugs and fix them.
     
  12. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    187
    Webroot review by a total idiot..No it ain't me...

    "
    Watch test videos of AV products before you buy2/4/2018 2:25:23 AM
    Pros: American company, lightweight, sale price

    Cons: After purchasing from a PC gamer review for a recommended lightweight protection, I watched a few different virus test videos (malicious web browser, zero day, ransomware, ect) of this product and it did terrible... Check it out on YouTube.."
     
  13. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    187
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I downloaded a trial version of WSA, and the trial key I was given does not work.

    Also, my webroot forum credentials are not working. It's been a long time since I tried logging into the forum, but I have my credentials saved in Keepass so I think they should be correct. I tried using the lost my password option to reset my password, but I never received an email after that.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you in the past installed a WSA Trial on that system?
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I used a trial on this machine about 2-3 years ago for about a week. I've since reformated many times.

    I got the forum credentials working again. At least that's solved.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Look for a PM!
     
  18. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I just got the message.

    Thanks!
     
  19. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    USA
    Since the update to the bank version of 9.0.24.37, both the scheduled and on-demand scan now take 15-20 min. on an admittedly old, slow Windows 7 laptop. Previously, the scan took about 7 min. I clean reinstalled WSA, deactivated NVT OSA, still have same problem. Other than the very long scan times, it seems to be working OK.
     
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi SouthPark

    Am seeing the same thing...no slowdown in interactive protection...just as speedy...but in terms of scheduled or custom scans I am seeing 20-25 minute scans of some 70K+ files...when it should be much quicker.

    But no panic here...WRSA's central plank is interactive protection so I am going to log a ticket with Support after the holidays (Support whilst around I am sure, will be on reduced hours until later this week).

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  21. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    124
    I see the same ...

    With this update v.9.0.24.32 - scantime did increesed to about 4 minutes - before it use to be around the minute (Win7 64bit )

    A question - how do I avoid wsa Not To implement previous settings, in case I choose to install a new copy? What should I look for, step by step?
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,732
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This canned reply is what we use:

    Please follow the steps closely!
    • Make sure you have a copy of your 20 Character Alphanumeric Keycode! Example: SA69-AAAA-A783-DE78-XXXX
    • Be sure you add your Keycode to your Online Console: Webroot SecureAnywhere Online Console
    • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
    • Download a Copy Here (Best Buy Geek Squad Subscription PC users click HERE) Let us know if it is the Mac version you need
    • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
    • Install with the new installer, enter your Keycode and DO NOT import any old settings as you can set it up as you like once it's done
    • Let it finish it's install scan
    • Reboot once again
     
  23. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    124
    Thank you Triple Helix -

    It is this part that conserns me - " and DO NOT import any old settings ... " - does this mean, that I have to untick something when installing a new copy ?

    What is your opinon of the increesed scantime - do you think it`s a permanent thing, or perhaps a "bug" which will be correctet in a next release?
     
  24. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Is there an option in WSA that i'm not seeing to exclude other AV's. I'm trying to fix a system freezing problem. I'm not sure if there is a conflict between Eset and WSA that is causing the freezing or if it's something else, but I figure it's worth a try. I checked monitored Apps and set NVT ERP to Allow and that seemed to help a little.

    Also an old problem has returned between Eset and WSA. They are blocking one another from injecting into the browser. Sometimes WSA blocks Eset, sometimes Eset blocks WSA, and other times they both block each other at the same time.
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    What I would recommend trying is to add the relevant components of the other AV to the list under 'PC Security' / 'Block/Allow Files' with an 'Allow' setting. Whilst this is NOT a traditional 'exclude' option I have found it to reduce/remove conflicts between WRSA and other AVs...it worked for me when (in the past) I was running both NIS & WRS together. You may want to give that a try and see if it helps resolve your issue?

    Regards, Baldrick
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.