Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Beta users there is a new Beta v9.0.20.31

     
  2. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    215
    that's great if you're a single user or have a couple users in a household, but in my case, i'm a systems engineer for a MSP that has thousands of users on wsa. the model of "just look at the UI and manually toggle stuff out of monitored" doesn't scale well. it's especially fun when users request support because their backup or disk imaging software updated and wsa is monitoring it and journalling all the disk changes to the tune of hundreds of GB.

    I'm happy you haven't had issues with it. I was a reseller of WSA for years, and now work for an MSP, so I've seen lots of users (home and biz) with issues, and lots without. It's not a perfect product, but none really are and everything has bugs.
     
  3. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    Update 9.0.20.31
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks! Just waiting for the Release Notes! ;)
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @clocks the fix is now released in the latest version 9.0.20.31
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    Ok, thanks. Will take another look.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  8. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I gave Webroot Internet Security Plus a few months ago. Actually bought a license. Maybe it's just me, but I found it to be a very strange AV software. When I tried to configure something in Webroot, can't remember exactly what now, maybe a schedule scan, I was directed to the WebrootSecureAnywhere page. When there, I couldn't make heads or tails on what to do. I got frustrated and decided to uninstall which was a head ache in its self. Was I doing something wrong in Webroot's GUI itself?
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I can't say what really happened to you but WSA does have an online console to control your system or systems if need be and always recommended to set it up: Webroot SecureAnywhere Online Console

    https://docs.webroot.com/us/en/home/wsa_website_userguide/wsa_managementwebsite_userguide.htm
     
  10. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Not sure either, but thanks for the response.
     
  11. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Belgium
    Personally I have always found Webroot easy to configure/customise. Uninstall even more so. However, it is known that in a minority of cases uninstall can prove tricky: see here (written by Triple Helix among others).
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Mac users there is a new Mac Beta out to Beta testers:
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2018
  13. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    I have had a few odd IE hangs only on systems with WSA installed on them since latest W10 cumulative update came out. Now hoping they are gone.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes there is a new Web Threat Filter Extension that we Beta testers are using for that specific issue in IE!
     
  15. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    That is it EXACTLY. Thanks for the info TH!
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime! ;)
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  18. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Thanks Daniel! :D
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada


    2018-06-25_12-38-10.png 2018-06-25_12-39-10.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2018
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anti Exploit coming soon: https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...on-participating-in-SE-Labs/m-p/323395#M31875

     
  21. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,259
    Location:
    UK
    Installed WSA as a trial to see how it plays with the rest of my security setup.

    I have turned the firewall off as i have webfiltering with adguard and a firewall in agnitum Outpost.
    The tray icon shows an alert with grey ocn and a orange exclam.
    Where can i turn this off in the program ? (as i already have the firewall and filtering)

    thanks for your time
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,809
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I run WSA (Firewall On) + AdGuard filters and Windows Firewall Control.
    Edit: have you looked at
    3165.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,735
    @trott3r
    wsa does not interfere with wfw or op fw. think of its fw component as an interface advanced in function but simplified in use. so, it's ok to have it enabled along with op fw.
     
  24. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,259
    Location:
    UK
    OKay good to know adguard filters are compatible.
    I will still prefer to turn them off as adguard is comprehensive.

    Yes i have found that settings window thanks.
     
  25. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,259
    Location:
    UK
    Have you run outpost fw with wsa?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.