Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. burndaddy

    burndaddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    When I lookup Webroot.com on Brightcloud it shows green with a reputation score of 81.
     
  2. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Wow @burndaddy it took over a year to make your first post here on Wilders. :argh: Hey buddy Welcome to the Forum. :)
     
  3. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Hi BurnDaddy,

    I still show the Webfilter as being orange all day in Firefox and Chrome. Odd behavior...o_O Not sure if a clean install would fix it either.

    Edited: Yea Welcome to the Forum BurnDaddy! I was surprised to hear from you too.
     
  4. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Showing the same here on the Big iMac! I just did a clean install, didn't help. Still orange. :(
     
  5. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Hi PTD, I haven't been on my Mac today but it's good to know that mine is probably broke too. I am just wondering when Webroot is going to fix this one?:eek: And thank you for saving me a clean install of Webroot. lols
     
  6. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Now this is really weird. I had a green check mark, went to make a cup of coffee, came back to Wilders and it's orange again. :confused: Maybe Webroot's trying to fix it.
     
  7. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I bet Webroot is on it with this one...My Google searches are green except for when I look up and search for the Webroot Forum. I have nothing but orange checks.o_O
     
  8. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    UK
    Uninstalled webroot, for some reason or other is stopped Fx addons installing, no warning\popup, just no appearing or working.
     
  9. burndaddy

    burndaddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hey thanks @ProTruckDriver and @SSherjj . Yes, late to the party, as usual. With things being as they are, I thought I'd look for an alternative to the sad state of affairs elsewhere. ;)

    Hey @Tarnak , love your avatar, but I can't tell for sure who it is. It looks like either Jackson Browne, or Iggy Pop. Am I right? :cool:

    Have a good one, everybody,
    BD
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2017
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
  11. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    Yes, it is Jackson Browne. Someone in the audience must have ticked him off that day. ;) BTW, welcome to Wilders Security forum. :)
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
  14. burndaddy

    burndaddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks @Tarnak.:)
     
  15. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Far East
    Why is Webroot performing so poorly in the below test?

    Fileless Malware Protection Test (AVLab, X 2017)

    https://avlab.pl/sites/default/files/68files/Malware_Fileless_Protection_Test_EN.pdf
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,417
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Not sure but looking into it. I'm surprised that Webroot was included......
     
  17. d_r

    d_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    HI
    I've been having the same issue this month; when scanning my CPU load goes up to 60%, and around half the time the temp on my laptop goes up so high that it shuts down, unless I'm quick to react and pull the power cord (in which case the power plan drops to one that underclocks the CPU). I had this problem a couple of years ago and then reinstalling seemed to help, I haven't tried that yet this time (though I reinstalled recently, maybe two months ago) but it would be great if one could adjust the runtime priority of WR. (This is on a quad-core i7 Thinkpad, FWIW.)
     
  18. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Belgium
    That's interesting.

    My main machine is a snail of a beast and CPU load often spikes at 60%+ during WSA scans, but I've never yet noticed any noticeable performance impact due to WSA scans. Other apps, yes. But not noticed with Webroot so far.

    Also interestingly Prevx (which Webroot acquired and on which WSA is built) did use to have the option of different scan runtime priorities that one could select in advanced options and it's never occurred to me (until now) that those options are no longer available in WSA. Maybe Webroot hasn't (yet) felt the need to provide those options because most of us see no noticeable impact on our devices as you apparently have.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,417
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It would be best to Submit a Support Ticket and ask them directly as I'm not seeing any issues and can add anything. Also I don't see any complaints on the Webroot Community about this issue.
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    If you laptop is overheating and shutting down, then most likely the cooling vents are clogged with dust, preventing air flow. Ideally, you will need to disassemble the laptop so that you remove the dust. Also, it may need new thermal paste.

    The CPU use from WSA is due to the way it is coded. Webroot do not want to add an option to do scans with lower CPU use, so there is no solution.
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    You are right, there are no such options, and Webroot are not going to add them. They suggested to me that I add a suggestion to their Ideas Exchange. This seems like a complete waste of time, but when I get round to it I will do so anyway. If not for the high CPU use when scanning, more than likely I would purchase a license. But, as it is right now, I will not use Webroot.
     
  22. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Far East
    Hi

    Any news on why Webroot performed poorly in the Fileless Malware Protection Test (AVLab, X 2017)?
     
  23. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Belgium
    Strange, because despite spikes in CPU usage that some of us encounter (60%+), it is still widely considered the lightest AV on the market (and, apart from a couple of recent scans on my neolithic XP, I have never discerned any noticeable performance impact on my devices).
     
  24. d_r

    d_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    HI
    I stripped this laptop down for a complete internal cleaning, including the fan blades and cooling vents, two weeks ago. The fan itself, including thermal paste, is less than 6 months old. The cleaning didn't affect the effect of WR scans on temperature.

    The machine usually runs at around 45-50C. When it is heavily loaded, for example disk backup or heavy multimedia, it gets up to 80-85C. Webroot scans (even with nothing else running) often throw me over 100C, which crashes the machine. I agree that it is extremely light when not scanning.

    Here is the post on the WR community that gave me the idea a couple of years ago of reinstalling to solve the problem, and it usually does...for a while. I just reinstalled again in September (for a different issue, a runaway database). I'll probably do it again, but I have to wait until I have the free time to write down and reenter all my settings etc. (I don't want to file a support ticket until I've tried that again; the main reason I was posting now is to second Roger's claim of CPU issues.) Meanwhile, I'll just keep trying to make sure that I'm in low power mode when scans happen.
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,417
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No info so far.
     
Loading...