Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
    try click Scan My Computer [​IMG]
     
  2. Criostoir

    Criostoir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    580
    I did and it came up clean. Maybe it's something that needs to run. Sometimes I just shake my head at this program.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Criostoir save a scan log and look near the bottom for the detection's and post them please: https://docs.webroot.com/us/en/home/wsa_pc_userguide/wsa_pc_userguide.htm#UsingReportsAndViewers/SavingScanLogs.htm?TocPath=Using%20Reports%20and%20Viewers|_____1

    Detection's would look like this:

    Sun 2017-10-15 12:39:14.0441 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:39:14.0807 End passive write scan (1 file(s))
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:46:59.0905 Begin passive write scan (1 file(s))
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:47:00.0125 End passive write scan (1 file(s))
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0251 Infection detected: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [SHA256: 275A021BBFB6489E54D471899F7DB9D1663FC695EC2FE2A2C4538AABF651FD0F] [MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F] [3/002A0200] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0251 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0252 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0291 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [(null)]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0490 Infection detected: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [SHA256: 275A021BBFB6489E54D471899F7DB9D1663FC695EC2FE2A2C4538AABF651FD0F] [MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F] [3/002A0200] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0491 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0491 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [W32.Eicar.Testvirus.Gen]
    Sun 2017-10-15 12:48:46.0495 Infection found in realtime: e:\daniel\downloads\eicar\eicar.com [UniqueID: 1B025A27, MD5: 44D88612FEA8A8F36DE82E1278ABB02F, Size: 68 bytes] [2753024/00000003] [(null)]

    Also do you happen to have your heuristics set to Maximum if so set to default and do another scan? https://docs.webroot.com/us/en/home/wsa_pc_userguide/wsa_pc_userguide.htm#SettingPreferences/AdjustingHeuristics.htm?TocPath=Setting%20Preferences|_____3

    If in the end WSA still sees detection's please Submit a Support Ticket and they will help you.

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,106
    Is there any way to reduce CPU use when scanning? It is very important to me for CPU use to never be high when scanning.
     
  5. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    I just looked and my scan time is 3 minutes. Personally, I've never noticed high CPU usage with Webroot even when it's scanning. However, even if it did, 3 minutes is such a short duration.
     
  6. Criostoir

    Criostoir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    580
    @Triple Helix
    Thanks for your help. I did have heuristics on maximum. I have changed it back to default.

    Attached is what was detected. I suppose it was because there was no matching file hash?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
    @Criostoir Thanks for posting regarding \CurrentControlSet\ events.
    I've read about such events ....have not afaik observed such events. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's what I thought that they were CurrentControlSet detection's and most times it's because you have your heuristics set to Maximum so if setting it back to default doesn't help then you will need to do a clean reinstall of WSA and that should resolve your issues as WSA can't remove those so no worries there.

    Please follow the steps closely!
    • Make sure you have a copy of your 20 Character Alphanumeric Keycode! Example: SA69-AAAA-A783-DE78-XXXX
    • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
    • Download a Copy Here (Best Buy Geek Squad Subscription PC users click HERE) Let us know if it is the Mac version you need
    • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
    • Install with the new installer, enter your Keycode and DO NOT import any old settings as you can set it up as you like once it's done
    • Let it finish it's install scan
    • Reboot once again
    Please let us know if that resolves your issue?

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same here I don't see Hi CPU and if you do it's only for a short time.

    During a scan: 2017-10-30_12-26-54.png
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,106
    I just ran a scan, and the highest and CPU I saw was 77%. Last night when I installed WSA, when scanning, CPU use briefly reached close to 100%. It's very light when not scanning.

    The computer I'm using it on only has a Core 2 Duo CPU, which is not particularly fast, but is more than fast enough for Windows 7 to run quickly on it.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    v9.0.18.44 Beta is now out to Beta Testers!
     
  12. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Thanks Daniel. ;) Btw, I like your new avatar. :argh: :argh:
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's the way I feel buddy, and I hear your not feeling well either so take care! *puppy*
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,106
    @Triple Helix Do you have any suggestions regarding the high CPU use? I guess my computer is not fast enough, but it would help if there was the option to lower CPU during scans.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @roger_m All I can say is contact support and ask them Webroot Customer Service I showed you my CPU usage but I have an i7-CPU I know my brother has a Core 2 Duo CPU and haven't had time to look at his. Also I never seen any complaints before about the CPU usage as WSA is the lightest. How many Processes do you have running on that system? Also how many [ U] files do you have in your scan log? More then 30? Maybe you just need some files White-Listed so again contact support.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,106
    @Triple Helix I do have 80 processes running and a large number of files in the scan log. I will contact support to see what they can suggest. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
  17. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    120
    one of my fav things about WSA is when processes that webroot's own systems show as "known" don't end up being set as such on an endpoint, requiring either support intervention or product reinstallation. or, another, when something is no longer "monitored" and the client doesn't clean up the journal and you end up with 10s of gigs of wasted space. good stuff.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,418
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Version 9.0.18.44 (Released November 3rd, 2017)
    Fixed
    • Bug Fixes.
     
  19. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Thank you for the Beta Webroot update Daniel! :DHope both of you feel better soon!
     
  20. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,399
    Location:
    North Of Thee Border..Gringo!
    Danny thank you!!
     
  21. Criostoir

    Criostoir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    580
    Webroot finds itself to be a, "Suspicious Site".
     

    Attached Files:

  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
  23. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I am getting the same thing, even on Wilders Forum. Strange. Must be a communication bug in the BrightCloud?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,726
    Location:
    .
    me too
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    Reputational analysis/lookup of Webroot in Brightcloud, old and beta version. I prefer the original over the beta. ;)

    Webroot_Reputational analysis in Brightcloud_01.JPG
     
Loading...