Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,879
    Location:
    .
    Forgive me for not understanding. Why does 'Allow' not satisfy.
     
  2. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK

    Why does exclude folders matter to me?....Because I have folders some with malware exe's for testing and a folder with some 5,000 + pictures of aircraft (Its a hobby of mine, plane watching)
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,879
    Location:
    .
    Since, Webroot doesn't flag for reputation.
    I've not as yet had to ask Webroot to (ignore) Allow files.
    I've asked Webroot a few times to whitelist unknown files.
    I was not thinking 'folders'.
    Okay easy to understand, now, why you'd want Webroot to exclude work product 'folders'.
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2017
  4. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    It took 12 minutes, what took them so long? :argh:

    Excellent reply time for Support on the Ticket. :thumb::D
     
  5. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    v9.0.17.24 just got it...
     
  6. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    My WSA scan showed that it scanned 17913 files. That sounds like a lot. Is there some way i could see which apps have the most files.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No as Webroot does it randomly (including running processes) in ares where malware try to hide and the scanned file numbers always change from scan to scan.

    My latest scan:
    Sun 2017-06-18 15:21:46.0987 Scan Results: Files Scanned: 10251, Duration: 39s, Malicious Files: 0
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  8. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    I can beat both of you by a mile!
    Sun 18-06-2017 08:33:01.0254 Scan Results: Files Scanned: 32898, Duration: 2m 23s, Malicious Files: 0

    EDIT
    It's always 30k+ files but I only scan once a week. Any idea if scanning frequency is a factor?
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  9. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    2m and 23s looks like a real slow scan for 32898 files. I do about 18k files in about 40s for a scan.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,879
    Location:
    .
    @clubhouse1, just had need to Allow a bunch of exe's and thought I'd like to simply add folder.
    I'll be asking support to whitelist files.
    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  11. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK

    :thumb:
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    2017-06-20_15-28-07.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  13. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    New Released Mac Version

    Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.20.57 AM.png

     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  14. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    When are you guys going to offer a reasonable priced renewal? You send me all these warnings that I need to renew and you offer me full list price. I always just go buy a new discounted subscription. You should support your customers better.
    And to make it worse, you "automatically" set me up for auto-renew at full list price. You make me opt out for something I didn't sign up for then offer me a 25% discount as a last ditch effort to over charge me. Shame, shame, shame.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There's always a great price here: https://www.webroot.com/us/en/home/affiliates/wsc-29
     
  16. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    That link shows $19.99/$29.99/$29.99.
    If I google your website shows $29.99/$44.99/$59.99 here https://www.webroot.com/us/en/home
    Amazon shows $14.99/$36.99/$49.99.
    And your convenient auto renew that I didn't sign up for was going to automatically charge me $79.99!!!!
    What a mess. Please explain this deceiving marketing practice. It's clear you are tricking people to over pay for your software.

    Here is your email to me.
    Seven days before your subscription ends, your protection will be automatically renewed for 1 Year at just $79.99, charged to the billing information you provided. Thereafter, your account will continue to renew annually and we will send you reminders before each renewal. You don’t need to do a thing—we’ll take care of all the details! Uninterrupted protection; that's the Webroot guarantee.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I gave you a link to the best prices but if you have an issue with the way Webroot does there renewals it's best to contact them: Webroot Customer Service
    I would never suggest a renewal but just buy a new keycode and if your using the AV only then put the new keycode in when the older one expires but if your using ISP or the Complete version then Contact support and get them to add the time from the new keycode onto your current one then your Passwords and or Back Up & Sync will not get messed up. This is also another good area to look for deals if you live in the US: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/newegg-com-av-specials.361072/

    You can remove your keycode from renewals: https://www.webroot.com/us/en/auto_renewal_optout

    I don't work for Webroot as I'm just a Volunteer!
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  18. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    125
    Just recently got the 9.0.17.24 version, and now the daily scan takes about twice as long than it use to - from about 35 sec. to about 1 minut 6 sec. - It is still pretty fast, but wonder why this different shows, with the same amount of files to be scanned ( around 18.000 ) ?
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you will see a bit longer scans because of the recent change of adding SHA256 hash's to the scan logs so it takes a bit to calculate them!

    http://answers.webroot.com/Webroot/ukp.aspx?pid=10&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&solutionid=1131

    Added
    • New file hash calculation to the agent log files.
     
  20. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    125
    Thank you for the explanation Triple Helix :)

    I assume the words below explains the details furthermore.

    https://security.stackexchange.com/...is-the-relationship-between-sha-2-and-sha-256

    " On a 32 bit CPU SHA-224 and SHA-256 will be a lot faster than the other variants because they are the only 32 bit variants in the SHA-2 family. Executing the 64 bit variants on a 32 bit CPU will be slow due to the added complexity of performing 64 bit operations on a 32 bit CPU.

    On a 64 bit CPU SHA-224 and SHA-256 will be a little slower than the other variants. This is because due to only processing 32 bits at a time, they will have to perform more operations in order to make it through the same number of bytes. You do not get quite a doubling in speed from switching to a 64 bit variant because the 64 bit variants do have a larger number of rounds than the 32 bit variants. "
     
  21. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    SecureAnywhere Scan Log (Version v9.0.17.24)
    Log saved at Tue 2017-06-20 22:38:31

     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    2017-06-21_16-49-21.png
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,206
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    My scan at 41 seconds was for almost 18k files. Lets see you scan that many files per second...lmao
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,015
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We don't get to choose how many files get scanned.... :D
     
  25. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Mine scanned one billion files and folders in 11 seconds...zoom zoom...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.