Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm checking into it.
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    Happy, happy, happy! I have managed to fix, and got Panda back in the form it was, before it updated, when I got those detections showing some files were bad.

    However, with a successful restore using Macrium Reflect, I have been able to go back in time, and those detections have disappeared in WSA. My logs no longer show the detections. Never happened! :thumb::)
     
  3. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,411
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    Why that? isn't good for webroot?
     
  6. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,329
    Seems kinda strange that their back after having left Virustotal.

    There was a discussion asking why Webroot stopped collaborating with Virustotal.
    https://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere-Antivirus/Webroot-and-VirusTotal/td-p/253366

    The most concrete answer was the one given to @Triple Helix
    1. If you were a malware writer where would you check to see if it's detected by many AV's and AM's?
    2. Webroot doesn't want to give the Malware Writers the upper hand so they can't check with VirusTotal or Jotti.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This is what i got.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Those are just assumptions.

    1- malware writers have they own version of VT, that doesn't submit the samples, do you really think they will submit the zero-day they are working on? come on...
    2- malware writers doesn't need the help of webroot or any vendors, they can FUD the malware by wrapping it , add a legit certificate (buy from a not so regarding cert vendor) then encrypt the malware. bye bye scanners...

    To use VT in a product, the product's vendor need to submit is engine to VT...interesting no? :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2017
  9. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,329
    Yeah, I know. The reason I quoted that answer was because that was the only one coming from Webroot themselves.

    Btw, are you arguing with me or with the quote I posted?

    Regardless, I'm still curious as to why Webroot decided to come back to Virustotal.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    with the quotes.
    read my last sentence :p (that is just an assumption)
    why would a vendors ignore the vast amount of datas collected by VT...? they have everything to gain from VT without loosing much
     
  11. lyldz

    lyldz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    turkey
    any dıscount for the new user?:doubt:
     
  12. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    Thanks for the follow up Daniel :thumb:
    Just hope they decide to incorporate some of it into the consumer releases.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  14. lyldz

    lyldz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    turkey
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Okay check your PM's.
     
  16. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    I've been running Secure Anywhere for a few days now and I'm quite disappointed how slow web pages are to open. This happens across all sites and I have to wait at least 5 seconds for a link to begin loading - often longer. If I disable Webroot, pages load instantly as they did before I installed the prog.

    Before I ask Webroot for a refund, have you any suggestions to improve this situation. I'm running win7, other software as in my sig, using Opera and IE. In all other respects the PC is running well.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The first thing is to Contact Webroot Support and ask them to Whitelist all of your unknown files and if in the end your not happy then ask for a refund. If you use not well known apps/programs and they get updated then it's best to contact support as it will take longer for those programs to get whitelisted. In my case I use Cyberfox x64 and Burnaware/PDF Shaper which I know not many WSA users use it so every update I get I just ask them to whitelist it then all is fine and it's a simple procedure. A simple scan log is uploaded when you contact support. Or as I do I post the [U ] lines from the scan log into the Ticket.

    And just to say I don't see any slow downs from my browsers: IE, Edge, Firefox, Chrome and Cyberfox.

    2017-02-18_8-44-59.png 2017-02-18_8-48-46.png
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Webroot wins SC Award for Best Customer Service
    Successful companies stand on the shoulders of great customer service. At Webroot, we aim to consistently be the best, and to do so, we rely heavily on our highly skilled, globally-based technical support team to delight our customers at every turn.

    At Webroot, we utilize a follow-the-sun approach with customer service support staff in Australia, the United Kingdom, and North America. – Amy Wiley, vice president of engineering service.

    Because of this, we were honored to win the 2017 SC Award for Best Customer Service at this week’s RSA Conference 2017 during the SC Awards Dinner and Presentation in San Francisco. The SC Awards acknowledge the achievements of companies and information security professionals that focus on protecting businesses and customer data.

    https://www.webroot.com/blog/2017/0...m_medium=social&utm_campaign=rsa&sf56783175=1
     
  19. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks TH. I've run the scan utility they sent the link for and I'm awaiting their findings. This is a really frustrating issue; it never happened when I was running an older version of Webroot a couple of years ago.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Support will let you know what's happening it could be more then whitlisting as they don't usually ask for wsalogs.exe unless there is a problem. Could you have some left over files and drivers from other not in use Realtime AV's or AM's?
     
  21. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Good report Daniel.
    Thanks
     
  22. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    Well, I sent the requested logs three days ago and so far no response apart from an automated acknowledgement. Yesterday, annoyed by this lack of urgency, I sent a request to cancel my order under the 70 day refund pledge. In spite of a reminder, I've heard nothing about this either.

    My word, how things have changed since Joe was involved in Webroot here.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Question regarding Webroot + Sandboxie + Firefox 64bit.
    I've tried running Firefox 64bit sandbox'd back in December and again yesterday.
    On my machine Firefox 64bit sandbox'd, tries to launch but, no joy with Application Protection at Protect.
    With Webroot Shut down protection or Application Protection at Allow, running Firefox 64bit sandbox'd is OK.
    No issue with Firefox 32bit sandbox'd.
    Webroot Support was not able to reproduce my Firefox 64bit glitch back in December.

    Wondering, any Webrooters running Firefox 64bit sandbox'd ?
    Thanks
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Contact them again!
     
  25. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    No. I've already contacted them three times regarding this issue but every support request or email seems to go into a black hole. I've phoned Webroot in Dublin just now and obtained a refund for my sub.
    Back to EAM for another year.

    Regards
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.