Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  2. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Webroot flags tweaking dot com as a "moderate risk" this is the site that brings us the awesome Windows Repair free/pro..I don't think the author/owner would expose users to any risks...Think I'll delete the webroot addon and use Bitdefender Traffic light as a more accurate analysis tool :)
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well Webroot BrightCloud is more accurate IMO and with more details! http://www.brightcloud.com/tools/url-ip-lookup.php If you feel this is not true then fill out this change request form: http://www.brightcloud.com/tools/change-request-url-reputation.php

    Also look at all who use it as well and maybe some surprises: http://www.brightcloud.com/

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)

    2017-01-20_10-55-55.png

    2017-01-20_10-56-31.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  4. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK


    Nah. not my job to tell them they've got it wrong, although I will direct tweaking.com to this thread ...URLvoid is a better measure of such tests imho :)


    http://www.urlvoid.com/scan/tweaking.com/
     
  5. SMC1979

    SMC1979 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    So because of one false positive on my site it is flagged as "Moderate Risk".:(

    So using clubhouse1 link I see that scumware.org flagged a single file "Tweaking.com-svchost.exe_Lookup_Tool.exe" with a date of 2016-05-20 10:17:44 which isnt even the file on the site as it was updated 9-13-2016.

    As you can see virustotal shows it as clean as well ~VT results removed~

    The biggest problem I face with every single one of my programs is false positives. I have all my programs code signed and that does nothing to stop the false positives.

    So I am a little surprised that a single file that is a false positive warrants such a risk label. It would be very helpful if the brightcloud.com actually said what files and why, otherwise it seems it is just pulling the results from other sites and not actually scanning the site itself.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well as I said if you feel it's not correct contact Webroot and ask them to look into it again: http://www.brightcloud.com/tools/change-request-url-reputation.php
     
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    Dubai
    Is Webroot SecureAnywhere the lightest AV?

    When I used it before i had to contact support to whitelist many files and that brought the system speed back up

    I didn't use it since 2 years, I hope this issue has been fixed

    Also, if I disable the webfilter, would I get any notification in Webroot that something isn't working right?

    I just want an AV with no web traffic filtering
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  8. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    I distrust this brightclouds results and as I've said I will continue to use the av component of webroot as a local machine protection and use bitdefender trafficlight as a more reliable site inspector...

    VT results on tweaking,com: ~VT results removed~
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well if you use uncommon apps then yes it would be best to contact support and get all your files whitelisted, I do with some of my apps. And if you don't want the Web Filter Extensions just disable in each supported browsers but note if your using Win 10 it has an active Web Filter Driver which will block bad websites and if you feel there not bad then you and bypass them in the block window locally!
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's fine do whatever you like.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2017
  11. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    lol @ the 23 mins ago!

    And with that, I'm out.
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    Why there is not an easy way to report FP easily from the software interface?
    Take into account the amount of FPs it produces it should be a priority
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    1. There is!
    2. That's untrue WSA has gotten much better over the years on actual FP's.

    Back to number one!

    2017-01-23_18-51-40.png
     
  14. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    I've actually passed MY webroot subscription on to a family member, the false positives on its URL scanner I could live with..But its lack of an option to exclude folders (such as my malware testing folder with its exes) makes it worthless to me...Think its time to return to avast :)
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    :rolleyes: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Id...folders-from-scans/idi-p/3300/page/7#comments
    All I do is put them in a Password protected .RAR File.
     
  16. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the link, I see that I'm not alone in noticing this paucity :)...I noticed one poster dumped WSA in favour of Kaspersky! not my cup of tea lol but each to their own, avast installed now and the offending folders are excluded...Simples.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm checking with my Contacts about it as we speak! Just to let you know it's already in the Enterprise version so go eat your smoked kipper!
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    That is not an easy way, you have to white-list the file after the detection and then go there and send it manually.
    Where there is a detection if I chose not to clean it and allow the app there should be a checkbox to automatically report the false positive.
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The best place to make suggestions is the Webroot Community: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Ideas-Exchange/idb-p/Ideas
     
  20. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Every time I visit this forum I see the Webroot thread at the top of the list. Very active thread.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I have been here since 2004 and using Prevx and now WSA and continue to support this great product. :D
     
  22. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Missed this!....avast offer folder exclusion on all its versions including a FREE version, I'll smoke you a kipper to eat while you cogitate those facts :)
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,021
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It will be coming to the Consumer version soon as well. Can I have my smoked kipper now? :thumb:
     
  24. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Excellent news, I will without doubt reinstall WSA once they do, thanks :)
     
  25. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Anyone have any issues running WSA with Avast premier? Was curious since I'm looking to add something to WSA for the paranoid side of me. :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.