Webroot Enforced Settings

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by blinking_spirit, Dec 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Hi

    This deals with utilising the web console to manage the security settings on a local PC.

    Laptop #1: Set at "Medium" and all settings are filtered through locally no problem.

    Laptop #2: Set at "Medium" and none of the setting are filtered through.

    The strange thing is that I'm still able to send remote commands to Laptop #2. So there's clearly a link present. Also, I can see the all the Laptop's details on the web console.

    I've tried support and now find myself going in circles with them now starting to talking about "Business Offerings" and "User Configuration".

    I've done the usual uninstall, remove all config files, reboot, reinstall, reboot, etc. and still no settings are sent from the web console.

    The laptop has Windows 7 Starter - could this be a limitation? On both laptops I'm only running WSA so there's no potential for conflicts.

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have all mine set to User Configuration the #2 Computer on the My Webroot Online Console set it to User Configuration and Click the Check Mark to Save then go back and Set it to Medium and Click the Check Mark to Save and give it about 30 to 40 minutes and do a Scan and at the end of the scan Right Click on the WSA Tray Icon and Check for Updates that forces Communication with the Cloud.

    HTH,

    Daniel

    Capture03-12-2013-8.29.38 AM.jpg Capture03-12-2013-8.30.06 AM.jpg

    Capture03-12-2013-8.30.51 AM.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  3. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks TH...good to know!
     
  4. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks TH - but alas, not luck. Followed your instructions to the T. Received similar instructions from support too.

    Any other ideas?
     
  5. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Let's do this in two parts.

    1: Info. What specific symptoms are indicating that settings are not going through from the cloud?

    2: Shots in the dark...
    - Did you have two copies of the affected PC at any point and possibly disable the one that was active? The fact that commands go through would indicate a different issue in that case.
    - Is the agent potentially crashing and not saving settings? Set to User Managed. Wait 15 minutes. Run a manual scan. Set to Medium. Wait 15 minutes. Run a manual scan. Shut down WSA. Restart WSA. Check settings. (Alternatively you can save logs and check for unexpected shutdown lines. (search "terminated"))
     
  6. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks for the reply!

    Answering your questions -

    1. The "symptom" is that when I go into advanced setting the text "Settings - Currently being managed by the Web console" is not present.
    2. a) There's only one copy present on the web console - and I have checked with "deactivated" PCs too.
    b) The application runs perfectly - i.e. no crashing or anything of the sort. I've done the set = X wait, scan, reboot, then set = Y, wait, scan, reboot. I uninstalled, reinstallled and still nothing. The web console picks up the PC perfectly in terms of its details (last scan etc.)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would suggest you Submit a Support Ticket and they check for you if everything is working in your Online Console.

    Daniel
     
  8. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks TH - yep, already on my life 5th communiqué with them and still going in circles :)

    Wondering if the update may help things...
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I was told the Online Console was being upgrade in the last couple of weeks and not sure if they still are? By any chance are you using and Upgraded all letter Keycode from 2011 or earlier to and Alphanumeric one?

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  10. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    All my keycodes are recent - nothing from 2011 or the sorts. Think I'm on the same page?
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you are just keep in contact with support.

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I agree, I don't think you're doing anything wrong - this sounds like an issue on our side but our support team should be able to fix it. Let me know your results!
     
  13. blinking_spirit

    blinking_spirit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Finally...resolution. Long version short they had to delete my account and I had to restart a new one which seemed to have done the trick.

    If I had any negative thoughts from the experience it was that when Webroot finally decided a call was best the support guy told me he has not looked into my "ticked" and could I explain what the problem was - a tad infuriating.

    But bottom-line it's resolved :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.