Warning! spyware is installed on your computer.

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Simon Phoenix, Sep 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    I'm fixing a laptop with this blue screen with letters saying what the title is, the problem is, I cannot get to the desktop in Windows, or in safe mode so I can clean this.

    What should I do?
     
  2. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You will get better answers sooon but food for thought:
    First off what OS ??
    ANy OEM recovery discs ??

    Try this ; boot with the rescue discs:
    Need to make them on another box
    http://download.bitdefender.com/rescue_cd/
    FProt:
    http://antivirus.about.com/od/securitytips/a/fprotdos.htm
    Avira
    http://www.free-av.com/en/tools/12/avira_antivir_rescue_system.html
    "Ultimate" Boot discs
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/contents.htm
    http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
    Barts PE
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BartPE
    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

    Boot with BING CD or floppy from Terabyte ( free fully functional trial )
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/bootit-next-generation.htm
    You will see your partitions, do MBR fix: might help:
    This will also allow a reformat/wipe of any specific partition back to FAT32 or NTFS or delete partition: not sure how helpful this would be ??

    Take the HD out and slave to another Box/or VM...then scan; This is likely a good/best option

    Find someone with bootable XP discs and do repair..??
    Take to local shop ;)

    :ouch: Reformat ? http://www.dban.org/
    Easy eh ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  3. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Well, I'm have about 2 blank disk and I have a older version of Bart PE so wish me luck.
     
  4. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Basically, if I can boot into Windows Superantispyware will delete the program but I need to get into Windows. I have the bart CD and I'm trying to access the hard drive and it's giving me a hard time.
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.