Warning-Norton Removal Tool

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Howard Kaikow, Jun 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Recently, I ran Live Update,
    Only Norton product is NIS 2008.

    Since then, my notebook has had difficulty picking up, or holding, the WLAN connection.

    Sew, I called Symatec tech support.
    For the first time ever, I foolishly allowed tech support to dial into my computer.

    An hour or so later, I returned to find that the computer had rebooted, but the desktop was back to the original config + True Image.

    So I rebooted.

    i was not allowed to log in, or even if I was, I got a message that my profile was corrupted and a temporary profile was created, for which changes would not be saved.

    Symantec claimed that the techie only used the removal tool to get rid of NIS.

    Afte several phone calls with no luck, I had an epiphany!

    The instructions for the removal tool state:

    I'm guessing that the techie ran the removal tool, which automatically reboote the system.

    But, as I am on a dial-up line, and the techie knew that, she could not get back on my system to complete the removal process. I suspect that is what caused the corrupted profle issue.

    Moral: If you are courageous enough to allow a techie to connect to your computer over a dial-up line, make sure that they are aware of the above risks. Actually, if they were not already aware, I'd ask for another techie.

    In any case, I just used Acronis True Image to restore the drive.

    As we speak, the WLAN is connected.
    Let's see how long that lasts.
    1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi, ...
     
  2. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)

    My Deepest Sympathies!​


    I've also... Been There ... Done That ... Got The T-Shirt!

    Not exactly the same experience as yours.
    But extremely close! :(

    They Restart the computer knowing full well ... They can't reconnect once the computer starts up again :mad:

    Not even with Broadband!

    If I remember right! :doubt:
    The only way of getting them back again ... Is if they give you a special number.

    You should go to the Norton Forum and.... Complain!
    Here : http://community.norton.com/norton/

    There have been hundreds of complaints about Symantec Support.
    Symantec Support is at it's best - Useless!
    At its worst - Down Right Dangerous!

    Re : Norton Removal tool
    I've complained a couple of times about the Norton Removal tool.
    1/ It does an absolutely rubbish job of removing Norton :thumbd:
    Not much better than just removing Norton the normal way.
    Even after using the Norton Removal Tool...
    I was still able to find a load of Folders and hundreds of Registry keys.

    2/ The latest version of the Norton Removal Tool is removing things it shouldn't :eek:
    It removes my card Reader :mad:
    And other people have lost their Card Readers too! ... After using the Norton Removal Tool.
    It seems to affect HP computers the most.
    Also...
    I don't know if it was the Norton Removal Tool or Norton 360 v 2 itself ... That broke my Intel Viiv Software :'(
    But I know one of them did :mad:
    I'm sure it's something to do with the plugin Norton 360 v 2 puts in Media Centre.

    I had to give up on Norton 360 v 2
    I kept getting : Symantec Service Framework Stopped working
    In the last few weeks...
    Symantec have finally started to take this seriously.
    And are now investigating :rolleyes:


    Good Luck!​
     
  3. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Used NRT many times without any problems, last weekend for example... :doubt:

    I always download my copy from here:
    Code:
    ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/removal_tools/Norton_Removal_Tool.exe
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    i have used the lastest norton removal tool awhile ago to remove nis2008 from my friends laptop then reinstalled it because live update wouldnt work. turned out the host file was blocking access to liveupdate. found out when i couldnt connect directly to the symantec home page.
    so the norton removal tool caused no issues.

    gotta say thou that 9/10 home users wouldnt have a backup and that techie at symantec would of completely screwed up your computer and would most likely have to pay someone else to retreve all your data and programs so you could do a full format.
     
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I prefer using Revo uninstaller rather than the removal tool, because it does the job fine and doesn't cause any problems at all:)
     
  6. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    If you run NRT, I found that you will be unable to install Avira without some deft registry hacking (thankfully easier now that Avira provided a .reg to do it).

    Im sure Norton products have greatly improved over time - but their uninstaller has not. :doubt:
     
  7. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Sometimes I find Revo Uninstaller kills my computer when I follow what it says to delete, so its quite dangerous.
     
  8. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I've been a little careful with some of what it asks you to tick in the found registry items. (It does prompt you to be sure about ticking these.) IIRC some of the reg items flagged for deletion have been applicable to the entire computer, not just the application being uninstalled.
    But generally it works very well indeed.
    Back on topic: That is somewhat disturbing information about the NRT. Must stop suggesting its use. Thanks for the heads-up.
     
  9. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Only problem with SymNRT I had was when I first used it. I thought it replaced Add/Remove and running it without A/R really screwed things up. It should really be called Norton Cleanup Tool as that is what it really does.

    Other than this, I have had no problems using the Add/Remove>SymNRT>CCleaner method of cleaning Norton.
     
  10. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @midway40
    The 2008 versions of NRT can be used as a replacement for Add/Remove :)
     
  11. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    FWIW I've used the SYMNRT tool over the past 6 years on hundreds of pc's and have never once seen it automatically reboot the system.
     
  12. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @EliteKiller
    Agreed, you have to manually press "ok" (at the end of NRT's wizzard) in order to reboot the system.
     
  13. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Always used this tool without any problems.
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Confessions of a Symantec software user

    In 1998, I chose to use NAV.
    Why?
    Because:

    1. A significant portion of my income depended on using/writing VBA macros, and I wanted to test against the most widely used AV product. Never liked NAV, but I had little choice.

    2. In the early years, Symantec was one of the few companies selling their product for no, or little, cost AFTER rebates. Being self-employed that was.important. Now, other companies, with perhaps better products do the same.

    By the time I was using NAV 2006 and Ghost 10, there were oh so many bugs, not to mention much intrsivess, I gave up on NAV and switched to KAn.

    I'd guess that lots of folkes use NAV/NIS largely be cause it comes pre-installed on many systems.

    In my case, my Vista notebook came with a trial version of NIS 2008, which I had no intention of using. However, because I had puchased NIS 2007 (in Non 2006), aand had never used the critter because it requires a tleast XP and I am using Win 2000, Symantec sent me a free 1 year 3-user license.

    I said, OK, I'll use it for a year, postponing the grief of removal until then.
    Bad decision on my part!

    I have quite a few unused KAV licenses, so I could install KAV, and use an unbundled free firewall, such as Comodo.

    When I use up my KAV licenses, I'll switch to KIS
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.