Warning: A part of process guard is not running

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by jimmytop, May 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Sometimes, when I log off of a limited user account and log into the main account with admin priviledges, I get the following warning dialog box:

    "A part of ProcessGuard (pgaccount.exe) is currently not running. When this part is not running ProcessGuard will be unable to handle execution requests. [OK]"

    This is very annoying and only way to get it working right again is to do a reboot.

    I am using PG v 3.15 full.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2006
  2. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Warning: A part of ProcessGuard is not running

    <bump>
     
  3. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Re: Warning: A part of ProcessGuard is not running

    Seems to work fine for me, have you logged into this account before with PG in Learning Mode ? (back when it was installed and configured). This may help as lots of things happen when logging into new accounts

    Also, ensure you have the startup entries still in the registry. PGAccount is started from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE so that it starts when you logon.. (all users)
     
  4. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Warning: A part of ProcessGuard is not running

    Yes, I have been using PG for some time now, it was in learning mode long enough, and everything that needs permissions has them. The pgaccount.exe is in startup in registry, and starts from HKLM as it's supposed too. Like I said, if I reboot and enter the admin account, everything starts fine and I don't get the message. Also, I don't get it 100% of the time. If I switch between users, no problems sometimes. But then once the pgaccount.exe message comes up, thats it, there's no starting that without rebooting. I can't even manually execute the file.

    I have an admin priv account and two limited user accounts, one of which has power user priv. This actually happens on three different machines, the other two have one limited and one admin priv. Eventually, the pgaccount.exe will just refuse to run when entering the admin account and I have to reboot.

    I think you just need to work with it a little, and you'll get the message too.
     
  5. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Warning: A part of ProcessGuard is not running

    Here is the original thread I posted about this problem last year:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=69616

    I never did get any response via email from Diamond CS despite being a registered user and trying multiple times to get help.
    o_O :(
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2006
  6. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Warning: A part of ProcessGuard is not running

    <bump>
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2006
  7. buffet

    buffet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    PG3.3b4 gets the similar issue on at least 2 winxp boxes when the first windows account logon is a non-adminitrative one; when switching back to an adm acct, the issue comes up even using run-as on pg in a limit-account. If all are adm accounts, it seems very well running.
     
  8. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, then I'm not the only one. Thanks buffet :thumb:

    DiamondCS? o_O o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.