WAN IP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Marco_CH, Feb 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marco_CH

    Marco_CH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    57
    Hello :)

    Since my home network is running quite smoothly ive only one question left for the moment. It concerns a WAN IP:

    My network looks like that:

    adsl modem --> smc router --> computer + access point

    when I enter the smc interface i see this (plz check picture):

    http://img479.imageshack.us/img479/3099/wan1wf.th.jpg

    Since I use a filesharing program I have to forward ports to make it work well. For this I had to create Pinhole Entries in my Netopia ADSL Modem. There I edit the ports I want to forward. To get it work I found out that I have to forward them to 192.168.1.55 (WAN IP from the picture).

    I found this out by thinking logically. I believe that this WAN IP is the IP of my SMC Router. I assume this is correct?

    My problem now is: I had to switch off my Router for a while and when I turned it back on I noticed that this WAN IP has changed. It used to be xxx.xxx.x.56 but now it is xxx.xxx.x.55 as shown in the picture.

    I have no idea why this changed. Of course there must be some easy and logical explanation but I dont know it due to my lack of knowledge in this kind of things :)

    My question is: Is there a way to make that IP permanent? Meaning: Whenever I switch it off and back on I would like to have the same IP as before because if not I need to change the entries in my Netopia Modem to get the port forwarding to work.

    Sorry for the big text.

    Many thanks and kind regards
    Marco
     
  2. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Hi Marco,

    What model is the SMC?
     
  3. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    I take it the modem is also acting as a router/doing NAT?
    If so, is there a particular reason you are using the SMC router?

    The SMC is likely getting it's WAN IP (which is still a private range address) via DHCP from the modem/router.

    Check the configuration options of the SMC to see if you can configure a static WAN IP and not have it obtained via DHCP.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  4. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas

    Good advice, and I concur. ;)
     
  5. Marco_CH

    Marco_CH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    57
    thanks for the helpful answers

    I think it solved the problem :)

    thanks

    Regards
    Marco
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.