VSS and Keriver Restore!

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ams963, Jun 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    VSS Problem!

    Hi,

    I am having problems with VSS. Please help me. I am sick and tired of having to make cold images which is very slow just because my vss does not work.

    I want your help to fix this prob once and for all.

    I found have this. And it exactly matches my problem. I have found the solution. But I need a little help in understanding.

    Now for each registry subkey under Catalogs the Location registry entry is indeed missing. It says to verify whether the program is still installed if the registry entry is missing. But how do I do that? I mean there is no program called System or Scopes. I've attached two screenshots to make it clear. I cannot even find the program how can I correct the location information? I also do not know how to correct the location information.

    Please help me. I am so close in fixing my VSS problem. I would again be able to use any imaging software of my choice.

    Best Wishes,
    ams963
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi ams963,

    -www.tweaking.com- has some very good repair utilities. You can get the majority of them in the "all-in-one" program but there is also one for your specific problem. You can find it here: Repair Volume Shadow Copy Service. I have used most of their utilities in the past (including the repair vss utility) and have had great success with them. As far as the systems I have used them on, they are safe and almost always do the job.

    HTH ;) .....
     
  3. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Tried it. Did not work :'(
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Please guys, the solution is in my first post. I just need to know how do some things told in that solution. I have asked the questions in the first post. Please tell me how to do that. And my problem will be solved.
     
  7. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Make sure Volume Shadow Copy is not disabled (from Administrative Tools -> Services. Its startup type should be set to Manual).

    As for VSS problems, I've experienced them on certain WinPE or otherwise minimalist versions of Windows. I'm not sure there's an easy solution but with lots of googling, trial and error, and maybe reinstalling some VSS related microsoft updates you can fix it.

    In terms of the registry key you mentioned in the first post, I booted up a virtual XP machine (with SP3, so 32-bit edition) with working VSS service and took pics of its registry entries so that at least you can see what they look like on a working Windows.

    Good luck.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You can sure see from the comparison that the Location registry key in System in my screenshot is not present. I think the solution in the 1st post is referring to that.

    The solution says If the Location registry entry is missing for a selected program, verify whether the program is still installed.
    If the program is not installed, right-click the registry subkey for the program under the Catalogs subkey, and then click Delete. If the program is installed, correct the location information.

    How do I correct the location information? I think the Location key should have been there in my pc. How do I add it?
     
  9. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    @ ams963,

    Noticed - in your screenshot - that you haven't a value name in 'System' registry branch; such key is required by default - like MS stated in your linked article:

    Location REG_SZ C:\System Volume Information

    P.S.: In my Win XP I have that entry 'Location'.
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yes you're absolutely correct. But how do I add this missing 'Location' key entry?
     
  11. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    You can do a .reg file and run it. File content below (copy and paste to a text file and rename with .reg extension):
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ContentIndex\Catalogs\System]
    "Location"="C:\\System Volume Information"
    
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    So I just copy and paste it in NotePad. Then save it as .reg And run it. I reboot. That's all right?

    By the way the system in question is Windows XP SP3 32bit.
     
  13. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    I think so. :cool:

    Good luck.

    P.S.: Win XP 32bits here also.
     
  14. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    That'll add the location entry to the registry key. Whether it'll fix your VSS problem is another matter. good luck.
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yes it worked. Yay! I'm posting the new screenshots. But I noticed there is an extra registry key under Scopes in my pc compared to the screenshots in post #7. And it is D:......so what should I do? I have nothing in drive D: except for the Keriver folder and snapconfig. But I have now removed Keriver Restore. It's still there. Not sure it is because of Keriver Restore though.

    What should I do? I mean the solution in the first post specifically asks for deleting any key under Catalogs for which program is not installed.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I wouldn't worry about it if things are now properly working for you. Even you have uninstalled Keriver Restore, the folder and the config file is still there, so it is pointing to this config, in case if you want to install Keriver Restore in future.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,048
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Sorry I'm late, AMS963...

    Leave "Scope" alone... it IS NOT a registry key under "Catalogs"... it is a sub-key under "System." Only worry about the keys under "Catalog" of which you have 1 called "System."
     
  18. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Are you saying that your problem is solved? No more "make cold images which is very slow just because my vss does not work."?
    I agree with King of Rapture: don't delete it! (e.g. I have it in my XP, and some time ago I used Keriver).

    BTW, do you use Registry Cleaners?
     
  19. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I'm impressed, well done everyone for helping him get this working:D :thumb:

    BY the way, what registry cleaners are safe to use and what ones should be avoided like a plague? Because it seems a particular registry cleaner was what caused the problem in the first place?
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    The problem still persists. I have installed a different imaging software( Macrium Reflect free) just to see if the problem is any different. Same thing. Says failed to create volume shadow copy. Same Error in event viewer.

    I am giving up.

    Thank you all. I really appreciate your help.

    But Macrium Reflect saved the day. I will just rely on the good old imaging mechanism of Macrium Reflect pssnap.sys
     
  21. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Try to install the following and see if it solves your problem with VSS.

    For 32bit system use = VSSFix x86

    For 64bit system use = VSSFix x64

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. Delete the .txt extension as it was done for uploading, thus leaving VSSFix x86.exe and VSSFix x64.exe
     

    Attached Files:

  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    It did not work. By the way, if it helps um....when I type vssadmin list writers in the comand prompt and click enter it shows an error.
     
  23. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    In the PM with you, if you remember that I told you it is very hard to fix VSS error. It almost requires formatting the computer.

    I had a computer with similar problem. Mr. Keriver the developer of 1-Clk Restore, tried for days to help me through email. In the end I had to format the computer to get rid of the error.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Well that's comforting LOL. I have recognized this problem is just too much to get a solution and I am officially giving up on this.

    I will be using Macrium Reflect free to make hot images using it's pssnap.sys since I am using XP.

    Reinstalling my OS is not an option as I've tweaked my system so much it would be hard to get it all up and running to my convenience again. Also it would take a huge toll on my bandwidth to update and download all those software, ms updates,etc.

    Thank you all for your help. I really appreciate your help guys. But I think it's time to call it a day. :)
     
  25. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Good decision. And, there is another one which I told you in PM, which also use proprietary driver rather than vss.sys

    Use both of them and you never know one day which one will come handy. Consider it two insurance policies.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.