VPN Issue

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by zeddjb, Aug 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zeddjb

zeddjb Registered Member

I'm new to both ESET and VPN's. I really like ESET and I don't want to uninstall it.

My problem is this:

I use the built-in Microsoft VPN server. When ESET firewall is enabled, traffic can not come through the VPN server; however, as soon as I disable the firewall, traffic can resume. I'm not exactly sure how to set up the rules to use VPN. I did set up one rule to allow ports 500 & 1723 through but that didn't seem to help.

Any help with this would be great.

2. shansmi

shansmi Registered Member

try putting the firewall in interactive mode and let it learn the application - remember to allow and save your choices.

3. zeddjb

zeddjb Registered Member

Thanks for the prompt reply.

The firewall is in interactive already. By default, it is in automatic mode and for that reason I checked some of the rules that were automatically created. I disabled all of them and then tried the VPN connection again and still nothing.

Anything else maybe you can think of?

4. Fajo

Fajo Registered Member

If its a Static incoming IP addy you can make a rule for it to Allow/Allow All. but this only works if the IP addy don't change every time you use the computer.

5. zeddjb

zeddjb Registered Member

It is a static IP since I run a few different services such as FTP, VNC and VPN now.

Above I did explain that I made a rule to allow ports 500 & 1723 ( vpn ports ) to allow them both ways. I don't want to open all ports to that IP because I don't want it to become a honeypot.

I also disabled all all the current rules just to make sure any rules weren't created to block it without me knowing; but that didn't help.

6. Fajo

Fajo Registered Member

Interesting.. I have VNC on my server as well as VPN. its letting me Thur just fine. I cant think of why yours is not. there has to be a rule set we are missing.