Vote for fw user controls in Win 8/ +........

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by ams963, Oct 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2013
  2. micafighter

    micafighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Hungary
    It would be really nice to have them back, and the missing settings too:


    [​IMG]
    These settings can improve security.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i would like to also see them back but maybe under a "advanced" settings type of thing so normal people dont mess with them.
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've been promoting this since the beginning with WSA 2013... but Webroot says it's not necessary as it can be done in Windows firewall in Win8... I disagree.

    Now it seems like it's more of a technical issue and no one knows how to implement it. Other products and vendors know, however.
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, and they can implement it within the codebase they use for their product. I'm no coder, but appreciate sometimes it's just not workable.
     
  6. micafighter

    micafighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Hungary
    Do you really think Webroot Team doesn't know how to do it? They just think it is not essential, because you have other means to change firewall settings, and very few people used it anyway (or at least that is what they think i guess)

    Because of this, the Webroot firewall interface on win 8 and up has low priority, and they focus on high priority tasks.

    It is that simple.
     
  7. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Here's what Joe has to say https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2289116&postcount=9

    From his words we can understand it's not that Webroot doesn't know how to implement it but they don't consider it necessary or useful for most users.
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Exactly, the firewall in Windows 8 is much easier to work with than previous platforms because of the built in OS controls. Every vendor needs to use the same APIs now (the older methods are deprecated), but that's exactly why we aren't doing it currently - no matter what vendor wraps the APIs, it will be exactly the same underlying calls which are built into the OS, and you can use the OS UI to do the same job if you want to customize it.
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm sorry if I confused you people. I suppose my english isn't the best at all times. :)

    What I meant was that other vendors choose to let the security software on Win 8 handle the firewall based on if the process.exe is benign, malicious or previously unseen or not yet classified. I see no reason why Webroot shouldn't let WSA alert the user with a choice.

    Currently, WSA only alerts users using Windows XP/7. By doing that, and not for Windows 8 users, it gives me double messages. Webroot choose one way for one OS version, but not for the other. I do not see why. Webroot thought it good to have on Win 7 but not on 8. Why?

    Just trying to keep the discussion going... :cool:
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    From my understanding of what Joe said, the other vendors are using exactly the same API calls as built into the Windows 8 OS. So it sounds like duplicated work when you can use the OS UI to do the same thing.

    Joe's quote:
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    TonyW is correct - and the reason why we have the functionality on Windows 7 and not Windows 8 is because Microsoft doesn't expose the same normalized interfaces on Windows 7 (or require vendors to use the new APIs).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.