Vote: Acronis VMWARE ESX Converter Direct Upload to ESX!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jeremyotten, Mar 25, 2008.

?

Should Acronis change the behavior of this feature?

  1. Yes it should be changed as you adviced!

    75.0%
  2. No why should they change it!

    25.0%
  1. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Ok here is the case. The Acronis VMWARE converter is nice but it lacks a lot of feature that the freeware VMWARE Converter software has:

    1. Resizing Partitions on the Fly
    2. Direct Upload of ESX Images to ESX Server or Virtual Center
    3. Automatic NIC IP adress configuration
    4. Automatic install of Vmware Tools
    5. Automatic startup after conversion is done.

    Point 2 is the main complaint with me. When I convert lets say an 10 GB Image of a server that has an partition size of 300GB. Acronis converter wil create (just as it is supposed to with esx) a Flat VMDK file of 300GB!! So

    1. I will have to have 300GB of free space somewhere to put the VMDK one.
    2. After the process has finished (which will take long) I will have to copy that 300GB Flat VMDK file to my ESX server (which again will take very long..)

    I would like to see acronis make an option just as in the freeware VMWARE Converter to upload the Flat-VMDK file directly to the ESX or Virtual Center Host. And configure other things like stated above!
     
  2. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    I guess I have to wonder, if the free version is free and has more features and functionality, why not just use the free version ?
     
  3. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Because the free version doesn't support Echo Images anymore!! ;-)
     
  4. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    Neither does the enterprise version.

    Most importantly, the ACRONIS version DOES NOT SUPPORT IDE OR SATA OR SAS drives with it's converter. scsi only.
     
  5. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Don't forget to vote! otherwise acronis won't see the importance of this
     
  6. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Get the votes comming boys....
     
  7. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Just so little people who come here work with ESX..... :-(.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2008
  8. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    topic bump
     
  9. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    I believe they have fixed the "no sata or ide" drive problem.

    Every time Acronis does a minor update... like from version 8116 to 8163, it breaks compatibility with vmware converter. Then vmware makes a new version which supports it. Then Acronis updates. Then it breaks..


    I agree. Make an Acronis program that can convert machines straight into an esx server. Maybe sell it as another product.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Thank you for your suggestions and cooperation, we have reported situation to responsible person.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky