VLC reaches 2.0

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by prius04, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/releases/2.0.0.html
     
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    does this require a clean install or can it be installed over the top of older VLC players?
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I installed it 'over the top' & the wizard uninstalls the old version then installs the new one for you if you want. That's the way I've always done it.

    Does anyone remember how to turn the subtitles off? I can't remember, I blame too much real ale for destroying way too many brain cells. o_O
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Using this now. It is much more responsive for me than the 1+ versions.
     
  5. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    HD videos play a lot better on this version than the previous ones.
     
  6. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Waiting for the x64 version and Android version
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    There's one planned?
     
  8. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    Not anything to write home about. Has added some new features but a lot of old bugs are still present.

    The install is very easy, you just have to be sure and uncheck any preferences you don't want as everything is checked by default.

    It's no bigger than the last version which is a +. Most importantly for me, it hasn't really done any harm, and if a new version of any software can say that it's okay in my book. :)
     
  9. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    and after seeing the version stuck on 1.1.11 for so long I was getting worried, like it'd been abandoned. This is good news. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Shame to hear, and still no 64bit build. Sticking with MPC-HC.
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    yes .. i had read abt it on ghacks
     
  12. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Currently a 64 bit player is not going to be useful as most popular codecs are 32 bit only. Take a look at MPC-HC 64-bit, a lot of options and functions are not available in the 64-bit version.
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    Think I'll stick with GOM Player
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    But it can be run on 64 bits system, right?

    I am asking this coz I am running it on 7 64 bits.
     
  15. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    When playing songs the sound is not clear. Same songs played with vlc previous version sounded clear.

    Anyone with this behaviour on win 7 64 bits?
     
  16. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I have noticed this too on win 7 32 bits. It is not that audio is not playing clearly, the audio output seems squeaky, like treble and base are out of balance. Too much treble in the output. VLC v2 has new audio re-samplers, they might be causing the problem.
     
  17. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  18. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    @Raza0007 & @narenbisht:

    Have you guys played around with the Equalizer, Compressor, and/or Spatializer (Tools>>Effects and Filters>>Audio Effects)? Just a thought.....
     
  19. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I usually keep these settings off or on "default setting" inside the media players and set it globally on my audio card. I have just increased the Bass on my audio card by a notch and this seems to have solved the problem a little bit. I think the new audio engine or re-samplers in VLC v2 output sound a little differently then the older audio re-samplers and I was used to the older sound. It will take a while for me to adjust to the sound output of this newer version.
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK thanks, I'll keep an eye out for it.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    To be totally honest I thought the sound quality was different on 64 bit, although I tend to use VLC for watching DVDs or 3gp files rather than just music. I'll have to investigate a bit further, but thanks for the information.
     
  22. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Have v2 now, looks nice. I use it mostly as a secondary player as on my PC the black is not really black with VLC, it kinda looks washed out, as if the brightness is too high.
     
  23. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Where is the fast-forward button?
     
  24. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Found it... Tools/Customize Interface
     
  25. Tychon

    Tychon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    VLC would be pretty much perfect for me if clicking on the video would pause and un-pause like most every other well-known video player does. It's such a simple thing, but I just can't live without it. Training myself to use the little play/pause button after years of clicking anywhere on the video seems like more hassle than it's worth.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.