VLC 3.0 Vetinari Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,108
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    As long as it isn't overcooked or ends up as toast lol.
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,920
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I might wait until 3.0.2 to make sure. ;)
     
  3. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Canada
  4. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,067
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    I have audio on windows 10 with VLC 3.0, I agree VLC 3.0 does seem half baked. I get slow mo with a aspect aspect ratio of 16:9 (there are black bars on the screen) but when I use full screen the slow down/speed up controls disappear or are grayed out.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,108
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think that's wise.
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,108
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's a bit disconcerting really as VLC doesn't upgrade that regularly, so you'd think it would be thoroughly tested. SMPlayer upgrades more often and I can't recall ever having any problems with it (well, apart from its usual quirks lol).
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,920
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. I have encountered this issue with v2.2.8 in Windows as well: VLC "Open Network" not working.

    It seems that the new v3.0 has the same problem, and will be corrected in v3.0.1.
     
  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    The new "Casting" feature in VLC 3.0 would not work with my Nvidia Shield (just a blank screen). However, just tried the latest nightly (portable version) of VLC 4.0 and casting worked superb the 15 minutes i ran it.
     
  11. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    Belgium
    I just don't get the hype surrounding this average media player.
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,021
    v3 cant use "quad" in audio/video files - uninstalled (same for 3.0.1 and 4.0.0). 2.2.8 is fine. although i appreciate new versions this one seems to be alpha status, so many bugs.
     
  13. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I try not to complain if something is offered for free especially if it's Open Source - not ad supported to boot!!!. I have 2 programs i use fairly often that in order to get the best video quality, would need to physically connect my laptop to my TV as the "Cast Desktop" feature in Chrome doesn't work the best. Now with the VLC 4.0 nightly, i no longer need do this as i can now just "cast" it. Appreciate this feature addition very much!
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,260
    Location:
    Outer space
    In 3.0 after resuming from pause, the playback stutters greatly and VLC needs to be restarted. I put 2.2.8 back on it.
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,920
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    VLC Media Player 3.0.1
    https://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html
    http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/3.0.1/

    Changes between 3.0.0 and 3.0.1:
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2018
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And 3.0.1 x64 https://get.videolan.org/vlc/3.0.1/win64/vlc-3.0.1-win64.exe
     
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,966
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2018
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,920
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    Fixed.
     
  22. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Now fixed in 3.0.1 update :thumb:
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,182
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Does this version mean v2.x is EOL?
     
  24. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,089
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Last week, March 28, for Windows, vlc-3.0.1-win32.exe was offered by default, for Windows x64 also.
    vlc-3.0.1-win64.exe was available, but not offered by default.

    But now, this week, I notice that for Windows x64 systems vlc-3.0.1-win64.exe is offered by default.
    https://www.videolan.org/vlc/

    Hm.. I thought there was no real need for a 64 bit media player, and the 64 bit versions were more or less experimental.

    What if one has a previous 32 bit version installed?
    In Windows, can the now default 64 bit version be installed without first uninstalling the previous 32 bit version, to keep preferences (settings)?
    Or should a previous 32 bit version be uninstalled before installing the 64 bit version?

    In Windows, if VLC media player is uninstalled, is the VLC config file (vlcrc) in AppData saved when VLC media player is uninstalled, or is the config file in AppData deleted when VLC media player is uninstalled?
    C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\vlc\vlcrc

    In Windows, if for instance LibreOffice is uninstalled, user settings are still saved in AppData and are automatically applied when a new version is installed. It would be nice if this is the same for VLC media player.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,021
    you can install both, but only the second installation is going to default player for xyz if you had defined some.

    issue could be that a 32-bit program cant start vlc x64 like i have on win7 x64, so i have also vlc x86 installed (second) and made it default.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.