Vista User Account Control - Norton

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Saraceno, May 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    I've read about Norton's Vista User Account Control, and previously used it for a short while, but thought it is time to try and use the operating system's built-in security again. There are many posts on this, so apologies if this is repeating old information.

    Obviously the standard UAC may get on a regular user's nerves, and they may start to 'allow' any alert. Norton's UAC is a much better method.

    Official download page:
    http://www.nortonlabs.com/inthelab/uac.php

    Screenshots:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r21263544-Norton-UAC-the-way-that-Vista-UAC-should-have-been
    http://content.zdnet.com/2346-12554_22-240379.html

    norton UAC.jpg
    Norton UAC 2.jpg
    norton UAC 3.png
    NOrton UAC 4.png
    Norton UAC 5.png

    How to clear 'don't ask again' alerts?
    I came across the problem, if I choose Norton UAC to 'don't ask again', and later would like to be shown an alert on that program, how do I clear the alerts?

    The following was a solution until an update can be made to the product (eg. a user log):


    Against malware
    Anyone found any other tests, mainly how it prevents unauthorised installations/malware? I found this review: http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2159351,00.asp


    Preventing mistakes
    I think Norton UAC is valuable in preventing user mistakes. For example, even something as simple as uninstalling a program - if you're in a hurry and you go to add/remove programs to uninstall a program, but select the wrong program by mistake, Norton UAC will throw up the prompt where you can select cancel and the removal is prevented.

    Apart from a couple of prompts, haven't seen many alerts at all.

    Anyone used this tool for a longer period of time, and found it useful?
     
  2. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Does the Norton Vista UAC Control eliminate the use of Virtual Store? I have a couple of expensive ($500 class) navigation programs that are incompatible and don't save things if UAC is used. Currently using Online Armor with Run Safer, which downgrades individual selected programs to Local User Account privileges but doesn't interfere with the other programs.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  3. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    sded, not too sure, someone more experienced might be able to help you.

    Regarding incompatibilities, I noticed firefox portable works for me, same with Opera Portable, every other program works, but Iron Portable doesn't seem to connect.

    See:
    http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=124

    I'll try install a more recent version of Iron Portable and see if it connects.
     
  4. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    I have the same problem. I thought it was the result of a SRP while running as a standard user. See thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=232857&page=4

    Anyway good topic about the Norton tool. I have wondered if it would be of any benefit while running on a non-admin account with or without suRun.
     
  5. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Ok, tried the latest version of Iron Portable, and didn't work.

    jdd58, did you try the installer or the portable version? I'll try the installer now. Haven't found a problem with any other portable programs (as yet).
     
  6. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    I've tried Chromium and Iron Portable installed in the program files directory.
     
  7. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Ok, Iron Portable now works with Norton UAC.

    I found out the problem. I enabled Iron Portable to always run sandboxed (paid version).

    So:
    Iron Portable (sandboxed) + Norton UAC = no connection.
    Iron Portable + Norton UAC, all ok. :thumb:
     
  8. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Firefox portable (sandboxed) + Norton UAC = is all ok as well. :thumb:

    Interesting. :cool:
     
  9. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    jdd58, I figured out how to make Iron Portable connect while sandboxed.

    Should be the same without sandboxie, and with restricted rights.

    All you do is right-click and select 'run as administrator'.

    iron image.jpg
    iron image 2.jpg

    Norton UAC should display a prompt, and all should work.

    For those using the free version of sandboxie and not having access to forced programs, you can either right-click and run the web browser (sandboxed) link 'as administrator', and away you go.

    sandboxie 0.jpg

    Or alternatively, if you have another browser that won't work with Norton UAC and sandboxed (such as Internet Explorer), you can create links to the desktop as shown below.

    sandboxie 1.jpg

    sandboxie 2.jpg
     
  10. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Final steps to allow multiple sandboxed links on your desktop.

    Select any program, in this instance, Internet Explorer to have a desktop link.
    sandboxie 3.jpg

    Then right-click link (which you can call whatever you want), and run (sandboxed) link as administrator.
    sandboxie 4.jpg

    You can have programs sandboxed, with Norton UAC on. :thumb:
     
  11. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Actually I can't get it to run even without Sandboxie. Something broke when I installed a reg file. I'll probably re-image back to an earlier time before I applied the reg file.
     
  12. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Fair enough, so right-click and run as administrator doesn't work?

    I've had the same problem, too much tweaking can cause hours of grief! ;)

    So far, only had a couple of prompts, one for CCleaner, which I chose to always remember, and one now for Iron Portable. I'll definitely install this some friend's systems, where only an AV exists. Gets you in the mindset to think more clearly when performing system actions/events.
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    btw at the last PDC (professional developer conference) someone asked about using these type of tools and it was adviced against. the guy used to work for novell and worked on this type of program and said that always allow was a very bad idea and caused programs.

    if you use norton UAC if you always allow a program then a weakness is found with that program surely malware will be able to use that program without any prompt?
     
  14. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    I've found with web browsers, I wouldn't 'always remember my answer', as web browsers could be used against a user. But a program like CCleaner for example, which wouldn't be targeted to be used remotely, I would choose Norton UAC to remember my answer with CCleaner.

    The initial problem with UAC, and it is reported by many reviewers, is that there was never a 'don't ask again' or 'remember my answer', like with firewall applications. The standard UAC allows throws a prompt at every command, so I agree with you, it is faulty security, trains the user into always clicking 'accept' even though it was setup to strengthen a user's security.

    Norton UAC gives a user more freedom, aims to free up a user's time with answering and remembering prompts, and provides more details as to file location. Also shows whether a program is digitally signed by Microsoft and if it is in a protected directory. I think it could have a security log (like with firewalls), but seems to be a vast improvement on the original UAC.

    The Norton UAC is what Vista should have always had and been shipped with.
     
  15. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    From the ZDnet blog, some replies from a Symantec employee:


    http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-12554-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=52936&messageID=1000743


    http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-12554-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=52936&messageID=1000742


    http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-12554-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=52936&messageID=1000718


    http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-12554-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=52936&messageID=1000677

    http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-12554-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=52936&messageID=1000715
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I get ccleaner to run at login as a scheduled task with admin rights so i dont get a UAC prompt.
    unless im installing or updating stuff i dont get many UAC prompts.
    as ive said before if you get alot of uac prompts work out what is causing them. maybe its a program that isnt designed for UAC. if thats the case eiether contact the company that made the software and ask for it to be fixed. if they wont you could always replace it.
    extra programs such as Norton uac can cause problems with other software so i avoid using them. same reason why i dont use programs like surun on xp.
     
  17. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    SuRun seems to work fine in Vista and even Windows 7. Personally, I find it works way better than simply using "Run As Administrator".

    The best thing is that SuRun elevates processes using your own account instead of the administrator account. So you're not left wondering where the program you just downloaded went when it only installed itself onto the administrator account.
     
  18. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 related question... With Win 7 having more UAC option settings, is the value of the Norton UAC tool dimished? WIll it even be necessary?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.