Vista ... to disable?...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by PROROOTECT, Sep 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Thanks for the link. There were some useful stuff there.
    I´ll keep UAC and Aero though. UAC for safety, turning off Aero doesnt do anything for me.
     
  3. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I personally think that with todays modern computers (dual and quad core cpu)and cheap ram ,theres no problem at all running vista in full without disabling anything.Mine is not slow at all and i run everything at vista default including windows sidebar (though i have removed the photo viewer and rss feed) ,and aero.I have a core duo cpu and 4 gigs of ram ,although less than 2 gigs is used.I like the eye candy and theres no slowdown whatsoever.
    ellison
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you dont have any slowdowns and no errors with vista your very lucky.
    yes its better than it used to be but still has quite a few issues.
     
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Almost everything already disabled, but I keep Aero, UAC and Windows Error Reporting. :)
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the most annoying thing that i find with windows is that every version is slower and more bloated than the last and you have to wait ages and ages for it to work properly.
    compare that to linux which is free,every new version is better than the last, faster ,better device support etc.
    i like vista to an extent but i wish it wasnt so darn slow even on decent hardware. i hope windows 7 is vista but faster,more reliable and stable plus less disc space used.
    the features are fine they just need to work better.
    i think that is what microsoft plan.
    the install time is ment to be 10mins compared to xp 1 hour and vista 25mins
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The Snipping Tool is part of the Tablet PC Tools
     
  8. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Windows 7 is on the right road...they're trying to reduce the Boot time drastically.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    execellent.
    shame it will still have the registry..
    wonder if they can and will make the GUI separate froim the system like in unix based systems. so it the GUI crashs the system doesnt.

    i think they are also trying to reduce the number of services and which ones start at boot time.

    it would be nice to have a "proper" commandline terminal like in Unix based systems.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Vista boots up fairly quickly for me, although I did tune it a bit. Still, I did not do all the quoted article recommended, either.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hmm ever since i downloaded the "vista customer experiense feedback" update that sends data to ms about boot times errors etc. my pc has become alot faster. like the speed it should always run.
    its like xp speed but vista..
    its an optional update.
    lets hope this fast speed stays.
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I have to agree with Ellison, I have been running Vista x64 on a new machine for almost 2 months now, no issues at all (zero), runs fast, snappy, with plenty of power and speed and stability, and I feel no need to tweak or alter or otherwise turn off or disable anything... I think on modern triple or quad core cpu's, tweaking things for performance just isn't necessary anymore. Any and all software I have installed runs fine, no issues there either. There just isn't anything for me to complain about.
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I did not tweak Vista for performance; I tweaked Vista to remove (or disable) the functions I did not want or did not need.
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    On modern PC's TUNING is a bit like talking off the good old days (when we lived in caves). Just follow the golden rules when buying a PC

    1. Use the OS of the Windows family choice which is at least one year on the market

    2. Stick to that OS for the time your using that PC (upgrading to a newer OS on an old PC is asking for a performance drop)

    3. At end of life of your PC, put a unix distro on it and discover:
    a) how much faster a well designed OS is than the latest of MicroSoft OS
    b) how much better looking/eye candy a unix distro is than the lastest MAC OS
    c) what a pain in the ass it is to get all your hardware working
    d) how much surprisingly good open source software is available
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2008
  15. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    blah blah blah unix blah blah blah
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Why bother? What do you gain?
     
  17. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The tweaks I made
    • Eliminated Restore Points, which were a waste of space and unneccessary for me
    • Scaled back indexing drastically, which was also a waste of space and unneccessary
    • Turned off the second monitor, which was unneccessary and also delayed start-up
    • Eliminated a number of services that I do not need nor use
    • Stopped a number of scheduled processes that I did not need to happen
    • Turned off UAC, which I do not want nor need
    • More

    Actually, I made fewer changes to this Vista system than I had to any XP system I used, and far fewer than any other OS, regardless of scale or platform.
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    most of the time disabling services doesnt gain any speed and can cause issues.
    all i done was turn off system restore. since i have imaging software.
    on a decent systems you shouldnt need to turn anything off.
    since this reinstall the only issue i have is some problems with stuttering and high cpu due to the new creative x-fi drivers.
    other than that the pc runs fast.
    file transfers are very slow...

    i dont agree with disabling stuff in that article.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  19. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Again, as already stated, I did not disable services for performance; I disabled or set services to manual because they were services I did not use (and I did not want used).

    Examples: BT (no BT devices); Terminal Services; Parental Controls; Remote.

    See Black Viper for more.
    Most of them listed in that article I do not agree with, either. A few I do.
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you dont gain any speed why not just leave them be?
    parental controls service is already set to manual.

    in windows 7 microsoft are working on lowering the number of services and also working on which ones are needed at boot time and which ones can be set to manual and start only when needed. it will make boot times faster.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  21. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Don't want to.

    Also, there is some security to be gained by closing some doors.
    I suppose when 2011 or 2012 rolls around and Windows 7 is GA, I will look at it.



    Here is my take on the article. Of course, if you use something, turning it off would be foolish (e.g.: Internet Printing).
    • Sidebar - OFF
    • Aero - ON
    • Assorted Interface Beautification Options - ON
    • Remote Assistance - OFF
    • Internet Printing Client - OFF
    • Windows Meeting Space - OFF
    • Windows Ultimate Extras - Do not run Ultimate, so do not know
    • Tablet PC Stuff - ON
    • ReadyBoost - ON
    • Search Indexing - ON, but drastically limit what is indexed
    • Offline Files - Does not exist in Vista Home
    • Windows Error Reporting Service - ON (but I block it from having internet access and periodically delete the logs)
    • UAC - ON or OFF, you decide, I turned OFF
     
  22. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Ok, to each his own, still don't see any gain though... I tend to leave things alone, especially services, as the more stuff you mess with, the higher the odds that you will dig your own grave, sooner or later. I used to disable services in 2k to gain some ram but it never improved performance at all. And if you dont' use something, no problem, just leave it alone. There is all kind of stuff on this new Vista x64 machine that I don't use, but I don't go trying to remove it all, there is no need, nor any point to it...

    But that's my preference, and yours is yours.... ;)
     
  23. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Close some doors - it is EASY !

    Use Seconfig XP . One click. Brillant! ... Works fine with Vista. NO problems, all gain ...

    Your PROROOTECT ( Beta )
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.