Vista takes a long time to close

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by puma_one, May 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    Hello,

    Since a few days, on my computer, Vista takes a longer time to close.

    It takes actually about 2 minutes 40 seconds to end.

    Can you give me some opinions about this ?

    Thank you for the help.
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Puma_One,

    Briefly outline what you've been up to in troubleshooting your issue - third, fourth and fifth points here. Little goes a long way.

    ========================

    Boot safe-mode and shutdown - same? If your "user profile service" isn't enabled, reverse it and reboot.

    If you have a "system and maintenance" > "perf info and tools" > "advanced tools" section,
    check under "perf issues" > progs responsible for slow shutdown - anything?

    *Don't forget about that first section, OK.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2009
  3. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    Hello Global Force,

    Thank you for answering.

    I assume that my question was too large, not very precise. I am a newbie with computer. Sorry.
    Before going to this forum, I made some search on Google and several other forums and didn't find anything who was really constructive. Also I didn't find what I was looking for at the Microsoft website.

    -----

    Under "perf. issues" I don't find any "progs responsible for slow shutdown".

    The last modifications with my computers were the followed :

    - installation of Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 (in place of nod32 2.7) (4-20-09)
    - update KB955430 (5-1-09)
    - installation of Internet Explorer 8 (5-1-09)

    The problem appeared only those last days, so at first sight Kaspersky seems not to be involved.

    I am going to test the shutdown with the safe mode and tell what will happend in my next post.

    REM :
    Vista SP1
    Laptop HP DV6500 (T7300)
    KIS 2009
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Type "performance" in the Start Menu search box and select Performance Information and Tools. On the left pane select Advanced Tools and then click on the first option, View Performance details in Event log. Some entries in it will probably offer a clue.
     
  5. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I really don't know any French but I don't see it pointing out a certain process that is causing the degradation. For example I have attached a pic from this computer at work which shows an AVG process slowing down the shutdown:


    EDIT: BTW, I do know one word, merci, that I picked up from some local Cajuns, lol.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    (Sorry For the french version)

    At the first pic, you have the mention "Event : 200 / Level : error"

    Maybe that means something wrong ?
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    There don't seem to be much info out there for this particular error. In your first pic did you click on the "Aide sur le Journal"? I am assuming that this means "more information".
     
  9. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    When you click on "Aide sur le journal" you have a new window where you can send the info "ID : 300" to a microsoft website.

    I did it but I found any answer.
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Careful now, I'll wager your English is better than my online translator French!

    Et au sujet du service de profil d'utilisateur .... permis ou non?

    Et sur le profil de l'utilisateur du service .... permis ou pas?

    Ce qui est plus étroit, the second?

    Safe-mode results?
     
  11. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Maybe this is not really an error message rather it is just reporting how long the shutdown occurred. I am at home now on my computer and I found a similar entry in my logs. The English heading says "Windows has shutdown" (the Babelfish translation of "Windows s'est eteint" to English is "Windows is Extinct", lol). Also the IsDegradation flag is False.

    I don't think this log entry will help you any. However the 64630 ms is kind of long for a computer. Mine showed only 7492 ms.
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    There's a shutdown hack circulating but I'm hesitant .... I'd rather it's sorted, not masked.
     
  13. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    Hello,

    To complete :

    - user service profile is enabled

    - for instance, I tried two times to start in safe mode using the f8 keys, both times I heard a beep but it started in the normal mode?!?

    Also I have deleted KIS (trial version) and I have reinstalled nod32 on my computer. It doesn't make any chande for the duration of the shutdown.

    It seems that something is freezing the hard disk during the shutdown, is it possible ?
     
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  15. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    Thank you for the link.

    In safe mode, the shutdown takes about 1 minutes 30 seconds.

    It's +/- 60-70 seconds faster than without the safe mode.
     
  16. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Was that build six or seven you removed? Via add/remove?

    You follow-up with (answer only) kavremover prior to NOD?

    Look carefully, were any of these onboard during the trial?
     
  17. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    The version 8.0.0.506 was removed via add/remove.

    I didn't use kavremover.

    During the trial, any of the programs listed by the Kaspersky Lab was on my computer.
     
  18. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Without a running copy of Vista to experiment with, it's getting difficult to offer proper guidance.
    You should however be able to open a command shell and dump us a list of what's active.

    If you would, runbox: cmd, then: tasklist /m > %systemdrive%\proc_list.txt

    *Find and upload the file after dropping a sole "backslash" into run.

    Tell us too whether you're familiar with this technique.
     
  19. Fontaine

    Fontaine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    245
    This is a longshot since you said you are a newbie with computers, but are you running the program Eraser? If so, configured to clean the swap file at shutdown?
     
  20. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    I've been wondering that too.
    I was running a tweak program and my Vista took about the same amount of time (2/3 minutes) to shut down. When I disabled the swap file cleaner, shutdown returned to normal.
     
  21. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    It doesn't work on my computer...


    And I am not very confident with the technique mentioned. But I must read it more in details.

    --------

    // I do not use Eraser.
     
  22. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You mean there was no proc_list.txt after "back \ slashing" into your system drive's directory?
     
  23. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    ok I have found the file
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2009
  24. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Nothing appears overly unusual. Going back to the time it started I'd take the logical approach. Remove each of your suspects one at a time, with reboots in between. There's the possibility doing so doesn't clear the issue, in which case I've already given one alternative. Your options outside another forum or someone else getting involved boil down to trial and error, i.e., going through the motions. Hesitation with clean boot leads me to believe you're in possession of a box with a lot of accumulated data and no recovery plan, not to mention the entire drive devoted to your Vista install .... that about right?
     
  25. puma_one

    puma_one Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    67
    Thank you for the examination of the file and for the advice.

    Hesitation with clean boot is mostly due to the fact that I don't want to make any false manipulation. It must be really boring to reinstall Vista, programs and drivers...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.