Vista SP2 RTM - be careful!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jimwillsher, May 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. markjrenna

    markjrenna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I installed Service Pack 2 and everything is fine. Here is what I did.

    I have Vista 64 Home Premium.

    1. I upgraded NOD32 Antivirus to 4.0.437.0

    2. I unchecked (disabled) Anti-Stealth technology and Self-defense from within Advanced setup from the Antivirus and antispyware screen

    3. I did not reboot

    4. I installed Service Pack 2 from Windows Update

    5. Once the Service Pack installed and I was able to log in I checked (enabled) Anti-Stealth technology

    6. I rebooted

    7. Upon log in I checked (enabled) Self-defense

    8. I rebooted

    9. Everything came up fine and NOD32 is green and no BSOD's

    I don't know if my procedure had anything to do with anything but it worked for me.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2009
  2. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    i did a clean install of vista with SP2 integrated then installed NOD32 and am having the disable problem
     
  3. rive0108

    rive0108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    I was just looking at some of the other threads here that deal with this problem, and they seem to think it is a Permissions issue. Has anyone tried running under the Built in Admin Account, to see if the app runs normally, and without disablement at restart?

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=241416


    If this is the case, then that would explain the discrepancy between why some have the issue and others do not. Windows Admin/User corruption occured during (or prior to) SP2 installation. it would also explain why I was able to fix my issue by reinstallation and running sfc /scannow, which would scan all protected Windows files to verify their versions have not been overwritten or damaged, and if so will replace the compromised version with a fresh copy.

    Corrupt Admin User accounts can be fixed though, and permissions restored. In the big picture though, If there is exisiting User corruption then you have bigger problems than just the NOD32 issue, you just havent noticed it yet.


    To run the built in Admin:
    In the elevated command prompt, type net user administrator /active:yes and press Enter

    To disable the built in Admin:
    In the elevated command prompt, type net user administrator /active:no and press Enter

    Anyone want to give it a try, and post the results?
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2009
  4. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I believe some people suspect it's a permission issue because of UAC. Several people reported they have UAC disabled including myself and when UAC is completely disabled a user account with admin privilege will have the same privilege level as the administrator account. Several people tried running the installer as a admin and some said it worked out fine and others had the same problem. Some said it worked fine, but then later posted and said the problem is back. The results are posted already.

    As already confirmed by Eset there is some issues with Vista SP2 and Nod32 v4. It's not like those with issues are doing something wrong. Of course people are free to try installing nod32 as many times as they want, but it's pretty potinless when the developer of the software confirm there is a problem with SP2 and nod32 v4. Wait for the next build of nod32 v4 is probably the best thing to do unless you have a lot of spare time.
     
  5. rive0108

    rive0108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Perhaps that is the case then. Good luck to all of you with the issue.

    ps- according to the Eset kb, the "fix" will be provided in the automatic updates, so new build installation may not be required.

    How will the fix be delivered?
    The current plan is to provide the fix via normal update channels, which means it will be downloaded and installed automatically by all copies of ESET Smart Security 4.0 and ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4.0, without any need for a computer restart or user intervention.
     
  6. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    He can't understand that if the solution was so easy, Eset had already figured it out. But is funny to see him trying different "solutions", even knowing that it won't work for all people.
     
  7. rive0108

    rive0108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Maybe not, but its worked for quite a few...and in the end thats all that counts. Even, if for the sake of argument the underlying issue is still there, it doesnt manifest itself, and it makes the app fully functional.
     
  8. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    So Nod32 has only to work for quite a few, i feel sorry for you if you think that's the way it has to be.

    By the way, i see u deleted the other solutions u had, why did u do that? they could have worked for quite a few :)
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2009
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,820
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I have been following this thread all week and I have not any problems with Vista SP2 & NOD32 v4.0.437.0

    Dell XPS M1710 Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo 2.33MHz T7600G with 3GB of DDR2 677MHz ram.

    I just installed SP2 from windows update & I didn't turn nothing off and that's it! So it is not everyone that is having this problem ;)

    TH
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2009
  10. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    to be honest I don't believe it's only about permissions. I have UAC on, many times NOD32 would start without any problems, but sometimes I keep getting red icon, and need to reset laptop to correct this. To me, it's more like some modules struggle with Vista. I also want to point out that " POP3 HTTP" error was even with SP1 (from time to time), and ESET never offered solution to this problem besides reinstall which didn't solve the problem for me.

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
  11. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668

    I think it's mostly x64 users experiencing the problem. Are you x64 or x86?
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,820
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: May 31, 2009
  13. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Here's my experience with Vista SP2:

    I have UAC always disabled as its annoying and useless to me, I know what I run and what im doing.

    I installed SP2

    Got the warning from NOD32 (red icon)

    restarted

    working like a charm now :)
     
  14. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Well I did too restart and then it works, util next time. Solution (restart) is not permanent.
     
  15. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I just restarted after you telling me this, being paranoid, but guess what? it is still working, so this is permanent provided you always have UAC disabled which is my case, I hate UAC, it is useless and annoying, I know what I run and don't need anyone to tell me that something is dangerous or trying to alter the system or not.
     
  16. markjrenna

    markjrenna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Just an FYI... I am running Vista 64
     
  17. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    If you had taken 1 second to read my signature you would've known. I am using Windows Vista Business (64-Bit)
     
  18. markjrenna

    markjrenna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Not sure why you replied to me. I'm just stating I am running Vista 64. I wasn't referring to you, more jimwillsher since he said 64 bit had issues. Just stating that I am running 64 bit and no issues.
     
  19. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE

    oh ok Vista 64 bit FTW
     
  20. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    That just shows that many people don't bother reading sigs, especially long ones, as they're usually useless quotes and stuff.

    It's plain that not everyone is experiencing the issues, but clearly some are. When I tried it I had UAC disabled (first thing I do on a Vista install is disable UAC) and I got a BSOD during stage 3 of the SP2 install.

    I've now got a slipstreamed SP2 install ISO, so if I get the chance I'll try installing V4 on a new slipstreamed SP2 installation. Though I'm so pleased with the Win7 RC installation (with ESET V4) that I might just stick to Win7 anyway.


    Jim
     
  21. dannyboy

    dannyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    FYI the issue is extremely intermittent. Two reboots is nowhere near enough to prove that the issue is permanently resolved. I only had it approximately one in every 10-15 reboots.

    Like you, I also have UAC permanently disabled, and always have done.
     
  22. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
  23. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    That's what I'm telling people. For the moment (last 3 days) I don't have any issue, but before that I had to restart NOD32 few times to make it work. I also want to point out 2 types of errors:

    1. a serious error occurred when loading real time protection, so NOD32 will not work at all (had it twice with SP2, never with SP1)
    2. Analysis of application protocols will not function - HTTP POP3 error (had it with both SP1 and SP2)

    Restart seem to "solve" the problems until next occurrence.

    I'm on Vista Business 32bit SP2

    Nodyforever, it's more like temp solution/ workaround, but it raises another security question:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1476540&postcount=164

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2009
  24. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Perhaps you (like probably 99.9% of other posters) had the SP2/NOD43x4 experience on another computer other than the one in your sig. Some people work on computers other than the one in their sig. ;)

    I tried v4 on 1x of my Vista rigs..my laptop, very clean minimal installation, like others mentioned here....step 3 was the issue for me, she bluescreened with an Eset system file, I went into safe mode right away to go uninstall NOD, while going into safe mode step 3 continued on...appeared to complete..and then said it failed to install (due to safe mode), and it rolled back. I uninstalled NOD and redid the service pack...installed smoothly. AntiVir is on there for now.

    Most disturbing....compatibility between software products and major OS releases is one of the reasons they are released to software developers way ahead of release time to the public.
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    A fix for the SP2 issue problem is currently being distributed to those with "test mode" enabled in the update setup. After a couple of days, it will be distributed to other users who update from regular update servers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.