Vista SP2 RTM - be careful!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jimwillsher, May 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Well i do not disagree, but i was referring to this the topic of this thread and the SP2 issue. I still believe that a product cannot be guaranteed to work with future servicepacks and this is acceptable as long as it's fixed within a reasonable timeframe. This kind of problems is not unique for Eset. This statement is based on the SP2 issue only.

    The other issues you describe been discussed in other threads, but i agree with your comments. Even if this might not be directly related to this thread i believe Eset have some general issues they should sort out like the lack of feedback and slow development of their products. It's a great product, but if you have some sort of a problem and find a bug it sometimes take very long for Eset to fix the problem without any feedback. Also you would expect that a bug reported at the beta stage should be sorted out before the release. I found issues at the beta stage and reported the issue to Eset, but still not fixed. All of this might not belong to this thread though since this thread is about the SP2 compatibility issues.
     
  2. JuliusB

    JuliusB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    Over the last few days and numerous reboots NOD32 is working totally fine without any errors or red icons.
    I did not install it in any specific way, I did not run installation as admin.
    But it works fine. I don't know why though :) Maybe ESET have updated it? Antivirus scanner module is date 05.27
     
  3. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    the program itself cannot be updated with the virus signatures. you have to download new version and install it to new build
     
  4. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66

    ESET has had plenty of time to test this. it is not like microsoft just dropped SP2 out of the blue unannounced.
     
  5. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Who said they never did test their products with SP2? Maybe an early build of SP2 didn't cause this problem or maybe they never had any such problem during the testing? Some users reported that they have no problem with SP2 so it's not like this problem happen to all SP2 users. I had some problems in the beginning and suddenly i managed to install nod32 without any problems and even did a upgrade to the latest build without any issues. For the record i use Vista x64 with SP2.

    I guess there is reason why Eset ask the users with issues to help them out by providing info. If they could reproduce this problem on any PC running SP2 i guess they wouldn't need that kind of help. So i still say that issues with a new servicepack could be acceptable as long as fixed within a reasonable timeframe. Also provide the customers with info regarding issues and when expected to be fixed is a good way to treat customers.

    I'm not putting the blame on the nod32/ess users here, but i also have to say i'm surprised why some have to install a brand new SP on a production system without getting a confirmation that other software installed actually support the new SP. There is a reason why most larger companies never do such a thing. If being the first to install a new servicepacks you also have accept that compatibility issues might occur. If a working computer is critical it's a good idea to not be the first one. For most people SP2 is not critical to get installed at this point so there is actually no rush.

    I installed SP2 pretty fast after creating a image backup of my computer and i was ready to accept compatilibity issues or i would never choose to install SP2 as this point. Worst case would be a restore of my computer, but didn't have to do that.

    You obviously disagree, but it's only my opinion. I belive Eset deserve some critic, but also think some of the critic is unfair since there is a lot of complaining in this forum. After reading comments from some users in this forum i find it hard to understand why they still use nod32/ess since it sounds like it's the worst thing that ever happened to them. I'm not referring to you in case there should be any doubt. Also this comments are mainly based on the topic of this thread which is nod32/ess and Vista SP2.
     
  6. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I can't speak for everyone obviously but while I may criticize Eset, it's in hopes of making ESS/EAV a better product, I have used quite a few AVs over the years and always end up coming back, for my needs and IMHO it's the best the product out there, but that doesn't mean it couldn't use some improvements.

    As for the SP2 debacle, I don't really blame Eset for this fiasco, yes SP2 well advertized and went through a beta and RC test cycle, but from what I can tell something changed at the last minute, from their own "notable changes in SP2" page released Sunday, a mere 2 days before release, they said Home users with up to date systems should only receive a small download;

    "However, most home and small business users will receive SP2 through Windows Update, which utilizes an efficient transfer mechanism to download only the actual bytes that are changed, resulting in an approximately 43 megabyte (MB) download." (On my up to date system I received 339MB, not quite the modest download promised)

    Further descriptions about it said;
    "From a functional standpoint, SP2 is nothing like Windows Vista SP1. That is, it does not include major functional, reliability, and performance improvements. Instead, SP2 is largely a traditional service pack, aggregating all of the hot-fixes and other updates that Microsoft has released since SP1. (And yes, as a result, SP1 is a prerequisite for installing SP2.) That means that Vista/Server 2008 SP2 systems should be almost completely compatible with software and drivers written for Vista, Vista SP1, and Server 2008." (we heard this before too, Remember, If it works on XP, it will work on Vista, trust us):D

    Suddenly now that it is out for a few days comes news that it contains 843 "NEW" fixes and features and there is apparently quite a bit more than "all the other patches/hot fixes that MS has released since SP1", I think the blame lies with MS. One of the "NEW FEATURES" is a new DRM management feature, which the implementation of has created problems in the past in previous OSes from MS, but hey, we can't short change Hollywood or the Music industry (Sorry if we mucked up your computer, but IceT needs a another mansion ya know :rolleyes:), this wouldn't be the first time MS screwed Software Vendors, that's for sure.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  7. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    What you say makes sence except... the problems people were experiencing happened weeks before Windows Vista SP2 was released, not 2 days. So those changes in the SP may not have made a difference.

    They had months to test Windows Vista SP2. I think the Beta was in December, the RC shortly after that, and the RTM (before Windows Update) a month ago. The final version of EAV/ESS v4 was out in early March. So they could have tested SP2 and made it compatible with v4 before v4 went into it's final release version, just like they did when Windows Vista was originally launched and Windows XP SP3 was released.
     
  8. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    NOD32 v4 worked fine when I tried it with SP2 RC FYI! Only with teh final build it doesn't work!
     
  9. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I can report that Nod32 v2.7 is working fine with Vista SP2 on the one computer that I have risked it with...
     
  10. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    still no update
     
  11. Heat

    Heat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    In this post I explained a possible solution:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1474933&postcount=117

    I have tried this on a Virtual Machine, a desktop and a laptop. This solution works on the Virtual Machine and on the desktop, but it didn't work on my laptop. Red icon and warning about realtime protection. I tried to uninstall Eset 4.0.437, but it got stuck during uninstalling the drivers. I also couldn't shutdown properly, so I had to do a hard reset. I was afraid I totally messed it up, because it didn't even want to boot in safe-mode. After a couple of retries I was able to boot again. I had to uninstall all the drivers manually, remove folders and registry-keys. I was then able to reinstall Eset 3.0.684.

    I just wanted to mention that, so you know you could end up messing things up. I'm not going to try this anymore. I will use Eset 3 for now and I'll wait for Eset to fix version 4.
     
  12. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
  13. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    in reading the FAQ they say that the problem will be fixed automaticly via the update process. i checked my file versions and seen this just now Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1217 (20090529) which is today's date. hopefully that is the fix
     
  14. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Nope, I keep getting the error message. They need to update Self-defense module (dated 20081105) and Anti-stealth module (dated 20091504) according to their FAQ (temp solution is to disable them). And here is description for those modules, what they actually do:

    Self-Defense – built-in technology to prevent malicious software from corrupting or disabling the system’s security
    Integrated Anti-Stealth – advanced technology to protect against rootkits

    Which makes me wonder if you disable them, do you still get Maximum protection or your security is compromised?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  15. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    damn, thanx for the info :)
     
  16. winchester73

    winchester73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Somewhere along Tobacco Road, North Carolina
    For now, I'm not installing Vista SP2.
     
  17. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Same, I'll wait for the all clear. But I thought this fix would require a PCU? I guess we will see.
     
  18. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  19. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Or this:
    v3.png


    :D

    I have forgotten how nice v3's GUI is compared to v4's (until I installed it again - just kidding)
     
  20. rif

    rif Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Austria
  21. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    The blocker toolkit is especially useful for companies and corporate customers in this case. Then the IT department can make sure the users do not get SP2 via Windows Update. It's easier then tell everyone to not install SP2 and hope for them to follow the advice. For a home user aware of the SP2/nod32 v4 problem then i'm sure a blocker toolkit won't be needed.
     
  22. rive0108

    rive0108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Check your build version, I had the SP2 issue, and its now fixed on my systems.

    Eset released a new build a week ago that appears to resolve the issue (at least for me). Build release date may 20th, 2009 (build 4.0.437)
    Suggest all of you with build 314/417/424 update your version to 437 here (build must be downloaded):
    (note- before you install be sure to export the NOD32 4 config settings, and then install and import the config)

    http://www.eset.com/download/home-64bit.php
    http://www.eset.com/download/registered_software.php (32-bit)


    I installed the build on all our computers, and the issue has yet to reoccur on any of them. No more red icon at startup due to real time protection failure.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 30, 2009
  23. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    Wrong

    Sorry, ur solution is not the right one, the problem happens with that build too.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2009
  24. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I believe the issue you had with nod32 is either related to some other problem or it's just a coincidence that it's working after the upgrade to the latest build. A lot of people already tried a upgrade to the latest build and have the same problem. Also Eset confirmed there is some problem with nod32 and SP2 in the latest build of nod32 v4.
     
  25. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66

    look at post #164 it tells you what needs fixed. it is still not fixed as of yet.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.