Vista SATA to SATA Laptop Clone Won't Boot

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ranger714, Jun 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ranger714

    ranger714 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I just cloned my SATA laptop drive to a new larger SATA drive
    via usb using automatic clone setting to make new drive
    bootable and the new drive does not boot. After swapping
    old to new drive, a screen appears saying to insert the
    window vista CD to make a repair. I don't have my Vista
    CD handy at the moment.

    Can anyone advise if this is easily resolvable?
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You will probably need to do a repair install This thread may help Vista: Are there issues with the disk ID?.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ranger714,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please clarify, what version of Acronis True Image did you use, and was the cloning procedure initiated from within Windows, or using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media?

    Please notice that as Aleksandr explained in the thread thomasjk pointed to, Vista Startup Repair may be needed sometimes after cloning/restoring. We are aware of this issue and Acronis Development Team is working on it.
    Another workaround could be cloning/restoring the drive without resizing partitions (automatic cloning settings are to proportionally resize partitions), and then resize partitions using Vista disk management tools.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. doenlen

    doenlen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I had a simular problem. I installed Vista Home Premium, got it working, etc., allowed Visa to create a C drive partition while being installed. I then used FDISK to create an extended partition, then had Vista create E, F, and G logical drives in the extended partition. then installed ATI-10-Home (build 4,871) created a secured area, activated the startup recovery manager, then made images of the C and E drives to the secured area. (D is the DVD drive) Then as a test, I erased the C and E drive, then "restored" them to their origional locations. Vista would not boot, said it could not find windload.exe, and it wanted to use the the Vista DVD to repair. I used the Vista DVD and it could not find the Vista installation. I don't have any further information, since I reinstalled Vista before I looked at this forum. Any ideas of what I could have missed? Is this something that will be resolved in the next update?
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    TI build 4942 has been available for quite a while. You might try that.

    I've had to repair Vista restores, but I've never had the Vista DVD not find the Vista installation. That's very, very odd.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello doenlen,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please do the following so we could investigate the issue?

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;

    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;

    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;

    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;

    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected file and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.