Vista EULA- Virtualization & Transfer Restrictions?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    !- Can u use Vista Home to run in VM according to EULA. Ther are different claims.

    What is correct?

    2- Are there any limits for transfer of Vista from one PC to another( no of times u can trasfer?)

    Thanks
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    With all due respect to EULAs, your money = your rules.
    And if Microsoft said you cannot use Opera, would you listen to them?
    Mrk
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Mrk, it,s not the answer of my Q. I know these logics already.
     
  4. coolbluewater

    coolbluewater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    next door to Redmond
    Only Vista Ultimate and the Vista Enterprise versions are legally allowed to be used with virtualization under the M$ EULA.

    ...just one more reason I'm happy with Linux :D
     
  5. sonic6k

    sonic6k Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Yet another Microsoft way to get more $$$.. However, how will they get to know that you run Windows Vista in QEMU/VMWare/etc after all? I can't imagine that there is code in Vista Home Basic/Premium which says "You are running Vista Home/Premium inside a Virtual Machine, this is illegal!"..

    Microsoft surely is stupid, Linux up :p
     
  6. coolbluewater

    coolbluewater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    next door to Redmond
    Well, i can certainly imagine it, and what with WGA and DRM in Vista, along with the M$ practice of "phoning home", it's not a far-fetched scenario at all.
    .. and you're spot-on with the Linux comment ;) :thumb:
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Very greedy beahviour by MS.
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Heres what microsoft have said regarding the matter (this is from PC Authority's march 07 issue).

    "For production machines and everyday usage, virtualisation is a fairly new technology, and one that we think is not yet mature enough for broad consumer adoption. Today, customers using this technology are primarily business customers addressing application compatibility needs, or technology enthusiasts. For everyday use vista home and home premium cannot be installed in any virtual machine technology, but business and ultimate versions can. Each virtual installation of windows requires a new license just as it did for windows xp".

    Although microsoft didn't mention it PC Authority said if you have an MSDN license - even the basic MSDN Operating Systems license - you'll be licensed to install any version of vista into any number of vm environments for testing.
     
  9. coolbluewater

    coolbluewater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    next door to Redmond
    Yes, for testing, but not for normal day-to-day use:

    I strongly suggest referencing the source URL for additional info.
    While I don't agree with the MS EULA in many cases, it's an agreement that's accepted when installing their software - gotta play by the rules.
    A major factor why I choose mainly Open Source OSes and apps.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What is this MSDN licence? How much it costs?

    Thankas
     
  11. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    A MSDN licence enables you to use anything within the subscription, the cost depends of which subscription purchased.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.