Vista created problem......................

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by sahibvirk, Aug 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    I was using Acronis n everything was perfect.
    I had three different installations of windows:
    1 for entertainment
    1 for software development
    1 for testing dangerous softwares

    One linux partition
    And one Free BSD partition.

    Wanted to install Vista.
    Bought Vista and updated to the acronis 2160 version.
    Installed Vista.
    Activated OS-Loader using the bootable media.
    And all the OS's icons were recovered.

    But whenever I click on any windows installation(xp or vista), I m taken to the following screen:
    Where I am to choose between "Earlier Windows installation" or "Windows Vista".
    Vista is selected by default and booted after 30 seconds.

    Ofcource this is the Vista bootloader. How can I turn off this vista bootloader for other xp partitions.

    This is annoying.
    Please help.........................................................................
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  2. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Great: Nobody replied.............

    I thought fixboot will solve the problem.....
    But now Vista is not detected.........
    How to get vista detected now.................

    Pleaseeeee Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you installed Vista, were the XP partitions Hidden?

    I would guess not and Vista installed its bootloader into one of the XP partitions (the currently Active one). Then you ended up with Vista's bootloader menu whenever you boot into ANY Windows.

    This problem is hard if fix once they become "tangled" this way.

    If your XP setups are NOT booting properly now then post back. You should still be able to fix Vista using the procedure below.

    If you have your XP setups booting properly now, delete the OSS entry for Vista (if it's still there). Deactivate OSS, boot to DD from the DD cd and set the Vista partition as Active and all the XP partitions as Hidden. (I'm assuming that the XP's and Vista are all on the same hard drive. If not, then the instructions will be different.) Then boot from the Vista DVD and do a repair (only takes a few seconds once the menu comes up). The computer should now boot directly into Vista and you shouldn't see your XP drives.

    Now, install DD into Vista and then install OSS. It will detect the previous installation and update it. Hopefully, it will detect Vista and add it to the boot menu and you'll be set.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  4. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Thanks mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
    I will try the whole installation again whenever I get enough time to............


    Just one last question:
    I had backed up the BCD file of the Vista before running fixboot.
    I used a software called VistaBootPRO to do it.
    If I restore that file will I be able to get Vista into acronis OS-list, that too without reinstalling.


    Just tell me if its posible, cause that will save me a hell lottafa time.
    Otherwise I will folllow your given procedure.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You should not have to reinstall Vista.

    I wouldn't restore the old BCD file as it has the "tangled" XP/Vista loading info in it.

    The process outlined in Post #3 will "break" the link between the XP's and Vista, allowing them to boot separately. This is what you need. Otherwise you'll still have the Vista bootloader menu when you try and boot Windows.

    Do the Vista repair as in Post #3 and then reinstall OSS. I've reinstalled OSS many times and it hasn't had a problem. It just updates itself. If Vista is booting, then it should automatically add it to the boot menu.

    I don't know what "time" you are refering to to save. Booting the Vista DVD takes a minute or two depending on the speed of your computer and doing the Repair only takes a couple of seconds. All it does is fix the MBR, bootloader and BCD file so that Vista can boot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.