Vista Control Panel Help

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by whitedragon551, May 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    My daughter was messing with my computer the other day while sitting on my lap. She pressed some buttons and now my Vista control panel doesnt have any words in Small, medium, large, and extra large icon views. All others have the words. How do I reset the control panel or get the words back without reinstalling?

    http://www.lookpic.com/files/Untitled438.jpg
     
  2. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Try clicking on "view" then schroll to "choose details" , click on that, then see if "name" is checked.
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Its checked. I tried to uncheck it, but it wouldnt let me.
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Ive tried registering the .dlls. It didnt work. Im using Vista Ultimate 64-bit.

    Yes NVIDIA cp is running. I do have an NVIDIA card. Im probably going to disable it since I dont need it.
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Doubting a corrupt shelliconcache, one thought among several. Unsure what'll do it though I'd for sure remove nVidia's cp from the equation.
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Already had a look at all that stuff. Is there a way to just set it back to default? Or I can grab the control panel settings off of my wifes laptop and import it. I just dont know where it is at.
     
  8. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry I took so long to reply, I have to admit I am lost and getting further lost with each day, when I first tried the "choose details" as I said above, I was able to uncheck "name" and recheck it with no problem ( the names would dissapear and then reappear depending on the selection). When you came back and said you couldn't change the check box, I tried it again and now I can't change it! I tried rebooting and still no go, I wonder if trying to change the folder options back to default would make the names appear again. Have you tried that. I did notice that the control folder is different though but maybe worth a try. Or maybe you have all ready.
    I have Vista 32 bit home premuim.
     
  9. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Found this, see if it helps. I sure hope so!

    In Windows XP, holding the SHIFT key when changing to Thumbnails view toggled the display of file name. This trick works in Windows Vista as well. Follow these steps:
    Open the folder which is exhibiting this behavior
    From the Views dropdown list, select Details
    Press and hold the SHIFT key, and select Medium Icons (or Large Icons) from the Views dropdown list
    Close and re-open the folder.
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA

    OMFG it worked. Thanks a ton. :D

    http://www.lookpic.com/files/Untitled441.jpg
     
  12. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Well that is great news whitedragon551 !
     
  13. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    What would really interest me now would be finding out what was done to the computer in the first place.
     
  14. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    What do you mean what was done to the computer?
     
  15. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry I was away for a while. whitedragon551 says in his first post
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.