Vista BSOD error still pressent after ATI 10 & 11 image restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by d.chatten, Aug 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. d.chatten

    d.chatten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    I have noticed a very strange thing happening after restoring a Vista image created with ATI 10 & 11, i have listed the issue below in steps.

    1) Vista BSOD, system restarts and i am greeted with the Vista error dialog when i reach the desktop.

    2) Restore an ATI image created with ATI 10 or 11, full disk including MBR and selecting delete all partitions.

    3) When the drive has been restored and i boot into Windows i still get the error message that i got before the restore, but this time there has been no BSOD.

    4) Write zeros to the entire drive, restore image, no more error message.

    NOTE: Both images where created before the BSOD occurred, also, this happens on two machines when an image is restored after a BSOD.

    This leads me to think that Vista is creating error reports on a part of the HDD that ATI doesn't touch during a restore operation.

    Any thoughts.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Do you get this same error message every time you reboot after the restore or only the first time?

    Do you get the error messages after doing a boot Repair with the Vista installation DVD?

    Nice fix you came up with. Which program did you use to write 0s to the drive.
     
  3. d.chatten

    d.chatten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply jmk94903,

    I only get the error message on the first boot after the restore, but, if i restore a second, third, fourth time, etc, the error mesage is still pressent on the first boot into Windows.

    I've never tried a boot repair with the Vista installation DVD so i don't know.

    I use Western Digital Diagnostics boot floppy (only works with WD HDD's) that i've put onto a bootable USB flash drive.
     
  4. d.chatten

    d.chatten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    I would just like to add that the images used to restore where created and restored using both ATI 10 & 11 bootable recovery media.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Was the error message specific to a program or just a general Windows error?

    Do you know the exact error message?
     
  6. d.chatten

    d.chatten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry i don't know the exact error messages, but the last time this occurred it was related to conflicting drivers between Alcohol 120% and Virtual Clone Drive, the issue only occurs every time there is a BSOD, it doesn't seem to matter what caused the BSOD, programs or Windows, the issue persists regardless.

    EDIT: All i can think of is that Windows is dumping BSOD error files somewhere on the HDD that ATI doesn't touch during restore operation, Windows then detects and displays these BSOD error files on first boot after a restore operation, i think Acronis need to be aware of this and maybe a fix can be made for a future update of ATI.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I agree. This should be fixed, but as long as it's only on the first boot after the restore and then everything runs normally, it's a benign error. You just have to remember to reboot a second time immediately to confirm that there are no problems.

    I've seen occasional only first boot after a restore problems in XP as well, but I can't give you any specifics because it is so unusual.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello d.chatten,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Thank you for reporting this, it's much appreciated. I will forward this information to our Expert Team to investigate. Could you please also clarify, was the image created from within Windows, or using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.